The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Report 420

Annual Report 2009-10

Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

February 2011 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2010

ISBN 978-0-642-79413-0 (Printed version) ISBN 978-0-642-79414-7 (HTML version)

Contents

 Membership of the Committee	xi 1 1 2
1 JCPAA functions and methods of operation Introduction Committee duties	1 1 1
Introduction Committee duties	1 1 2
Committee duties	1 2
	2
Review Auditor-General's reports and conduct policy inquiries	
	3
Advise the Auditor-General of the audit priorities of the Parliament	
Approve or reject any nomination for an appointment as Auditor-General or Independent	
Auditor	3
Review the annual budget of the ANAO	4
Approve the annual report requirements for Commonwealth agencies	5
Biannual hearings with the Commissioner of Taxation	5
Annual hearing on the ANAO/Defence "Major Projects Report"	5
Australasian Council of Public Accounts Committees (ACPAC)	6
How the Committee operates	6
Conduct of inquiries	6
Government responses to JCPAA reports	7
The Committee secretariat	8
2 Summary of activities for 2009-10	9
Committee reports	9
Report 415: Review of Auditor-General's Reports tabled between September 2008 and Janua	ary
2009	9

Report 416: Review of the Major Projects Report 2007-2008	10
Report 417: Review of Auditor-General's Reports tabled between February 2009	and
September 2009	10
Inquiries in progress at 30 June 2010	11
Inquiry into the Auditor-General Act 1997	11
Inquiry into the Auditor-General's role in scrutinising government advertising	12
Review of Auditor-General's reports	12
Other Committee activities for 2009-10	13
Audit priorities of the Parliament	13
Statement on the draft estimates for the ANAO, budget day 2010	14
Biannual public hearings with the Commissioner of Taxation	15
2009-10 Annual Report Requirements for Commonwealth agencies	15
Briefing on public sector governance issues	
Engagement with the Independent Auditor	16
Speeches and meetings with delegations	17
Appendix A – Committee meetings 2009-10	19
Appendix B – Committee expenses 2009-10	21

Foreword

I am pleased to present the 2009-10 annual report of the Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit (JCPAA), pursuant to section 8B of the *Public Accounts and Audit Committee Act* 1951.

In general terms, the duties of the JCPAA are to:

- examine the financial affairs of authorities of the Commonwealth, and examine all reports of the Auditor-General that are tabled in each house of the Parliament;
- consider the operations and resources of the Audit Office;
- approve or reject the Prime Minister's recommendation for appointment of the Auditor-General and the Independent Auditor; and
- increase parliamentary and public awareness of the financial and related operations of government.

While this report is being released by the Committee in the 43rd Parliament, the activities recorded herein were undertaken by our predecessor Committee before the 2010 federal election. I thank the members of that Committee (chaired by Sharon Grierson MP, Deputy Chair Petro Georgiou MP) for their work, and on behalf of the new Committee flag our ongoing commitment to proper scrutiny of the use of public resources by the Executive and its agencies.

Robert Oakeshott MP Chair

Membership of the Committee

43rd Parliament

- Chair Mr Robert Oakeshott MP
- Deputy Chair Mrs Yvette D'Ath MP
- MembersThe Hon Dick Adams MPSenator Guy BarnettMr Jamie Briggs MPSenator Mark BishopMs Gai Brodtmann MPSenator Annette HurleyMr Darren Cheeseman MPSenator Helen KrogerMr Josh Frydenberg MPSenator Glenn SterleMs Deb O'Neill MPMs Laura Smyth MP
 - The Hon Alex Somlyay MP

42nd Parliament (2009–10)

Chair Ms Sharon Grierson MP

Deputy Chair Mr Petro Georgiou MP

Members The Hon Dick Adams MP (from 17/08/09) Senator Guy Barnett The Hon Arch Bevis MP Senator Mark Bishop Senator David Bushby (until 02/02/10) The Hon Bronwyn Bishop MP Mr David Bradbury MP Senator David Feeney Mr Jamie Briggs MP Senator Helen Kroger (from 02/02/10) Ms Catherine King MP Senator Kate Lundy The Hon Sussan Ley MP (from 03/02/10) Mr Shayne Neumann MP Mr Stuart Robert MP (until 03/02/10)

Committee secretariat

43rd Parliament

Secretary	Mr Russell Chafer
Inquiry Secretaries	Ms Pauline Cullen
	Ms Stephanie Mikac
	Ms Penny Wijnberg
Senior Research Officer	Dr Narelle McGlusky
Research Officer	Ms Fiona Gardner

42nd Parliament (2009-10)

Secretary	Mr Russell Chafer
Inquiry Secretaries	Mr Muzammil Ali
	Ms Sharon Bryant
	Ms Pauline Cullen
	Dr Kris Veenstra
Senior Research Officers	Mr Shane Armstrong
	Dr Narelle McGlusky
ANAO secondee	Dr Stewart Ashe

List of abbreviations

- ACPAC Australasian Council of Public Accounts Committees
- ANAO Australian National Audit Office
- ANU Australian National University
- CDI Centre for Democratic Institutions
- CEO Chief Executive Officer
- CPA Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
- DMO Defence Materiel Organisation
- DPM&C Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
- FMA Financial Management and Accountability (Act)
- I(C)T Information (and Communications) Technology
- JCPAA Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit
- MPR Major Projects Report
- PAC Public Accounts Committee