# D

# Appendix D-Witnesses appearing at public hearings

# Canberra Tuesday 16 July

Australian National Audit Office Mr Ian McPhee, Acting Auditor-General Mr Alan Greenslade, Executive Director Mr John Meert, Group Executive Director Mr David Marcus, Consultant

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry—Australia Mr Geoffrey Gorrie, Acting Secretary Ms Meryl Stanton, Executive Director, AQIS Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Market Access and Biosecurity Ms Mary Harwood, Executive Manager, Biosecurity Australia Mr John Cahill, Executive Manager Quarantine, AQIS Dr Bob Biddle, Deputy Chief Veterinary Officer, PIAPH Dr William Roberts, Chief Plant Protection Officer

#### Australian Customs Service

Ms Gail Batman, Executive National Director, Passengers and Information Technology

Mrs Marion Grant, National Manager, Border Operations

#### Australia Post

Mr Michael McCloskey, Corporate Secretary

Mr Chris Grosser, Group Manager, International

Mr Ken Barrett, Manager, Border Agency Program

#### **Environment Australia**

Mr Gerard Early, First Assistant Secretary, Approvals and Legislation Division

Ms Anne-Marie Delahunt, Assistant Secretary, Wildlife Australia

Ms Alison Russell-French, Assistant Secretary, Marine, Coasts and Wetlands Branch

#### **Quarantine and Exports Advisory Council**

Mr William Rogers, Chairman

Mr Andrew Inglis, Deputy Chairman

Mr Hart Krtschil, Member

### Canberra Wednesday 17 July 2002

#### Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Terry Walker, Director, Air and Seaports Operations, Entry Branch

Ms Christine Sykes, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Border Control and Compliance Division

**Cattle Council of Australia** 

Mr James Hartmann, Deputy Director

Australian Pork Ltd

Ms Kathleen Plowman, General Manager, Policy Division Mr Chris Ambler, Senior Policy Analyst

Fertilizer Industry Federation of Australia Inc Mr John Lewis, Director Mr Nicholas Drew, Executive Manager Captain Michael Pritchard, Member

Mr Peter Bennett

#### Australian Wool Innovation Ltd

Dr Scott Williams, External Project Manager, Animal Health and Exotic Disease

Ms Jane Holloway, Manager, Trade Relations Program

# Brisbane Monday 29 July 2002

Department of Primary Industry, Queensland Mr Kevin Dunn, Executive Director, Animal and Plant Health Service Mr Robert Allen, Principal Policy Officer, Plant Health

Horticulture Australia Council Ltd

Mr Rod Fayle, Chairman

Queensland Fruit and Vegetable Growers Mr Mark Panitz, Chief Advocate

Australian Banana Growers Council

Mr Tony Heidrich, Chief Executive Officer

**Queensland Environmental Protection Agency** 

Ms Pauline Semple, Acting Chief Scientist, Waterways Scientific Services

# Sydney Monday 5 August 2002

Industry Working Group on Quarantine Mr Stephen Morris, Member

Mr Antony Beaver, Member

Australian Chicken Meat Federation Dr Jeffory Fairbrother, Executive Director

Australian Veterinary Association Ltd Dr Kevin Doyle, National Veterinarian Dr Joanne Sillince, Board Member and President-Elect

Diageo Australia Ltd Mr Robert Preece, External Consultant Mr Ron Ainsbury, Director, External Affairs Mr John Halmarick, External Consultant Mr David Marr, Commercial Director, Global Duty Free

## Melbourne Tuesday 3 September 2002

#### **Tasmanian Government**

Mr John Pauley, General Manager, Food, Agriculture and Fisheries, Department of Primary Industries, Water and Environment

Mr Daniel Reardon, Manager, Quarantine, Department of Primary Industries, Water and Environment

#### Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Deborah Middleton, Senior Veterinary Scientist

Dr Robert Floyd, Portfolio Manager, Biosecurity and Natural Resources

**Productivity Commission** 

Mr Robert Kerr, Head of Office

Mr Garth Pitkethly, First Assistant Commissioner, Canberra Office

Australian Society for Parasitology

Dr Richard Mark Sandeman, Vice-President

#### Inquit Consulting

Mr Paul Kerr, General Manager (Operations), Murray Goulburn Cooperative

Australian Dairy Corporation Mr Phillip Goode, Manager, International Policy

Independent Paper Group Mr Anthony Wood, President Mr Robert Ferris, Member **Tasmanian Salmonid Growers Association** 

Mr Owen Carrington-Smith, Chairman

# Canberra Friday 20 September 2002

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Australia Ms Meryl Stanton, Executive Director, AQIS Mr John Cahill, Executive Manager Quarantine, AQIS Mr Robert Murphy, National Manager Border, AQIS Mr Andy Carroll, National Manager Cargo Management, AQIS Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Market Access and Biosecurity Ms Mary Harwood, Executive Manager, Biosecurity Australia Dr David Banks, General Manager Animal Biosecurity, Biosecurity Australia Dr Brian Stynes, General Manager Plant Biosecurity, Biosecurity Australia Dr Michael Nunn, Manager (Animal Health Science), Office of the Chief Veterinary Officer, PIAPH Dr Ian Naumann, Principal Research Scientist, PIAPH Mr Daryl Quinlivan, Executive Manager, Fisheries and Forestry