Issued: 27 May 2009

Chair -Sharryn Jackson MP

## Systemic discrimination in the workforce

In their submission, the ACT Council of Social Service (ACTCOSS) and the Women's Centre for Health Matters (WCHM) calls for a government commitment to address:

- Systemic discrimination in the workforce;
- Gaps in the education of women, employers and the community in general; and
- Support for disadvantaged women in the workforce.

ACTCOSS and WCHM also "emphasise the need for law reform in the areas of superannuation law and equal remuneration provisions" in their joint submission to the House of Representatives Employment and Workplace Relations Committee's inquiry into pay equity and associated issues related to increasing female participation in the workforce.

"The low level of women's superannuation continues to be raised before the Committee as a major issue in this inquiry" Committee Chair, Ms Sharryn Jackson said. "Further to offering ways to address the superannuation problem, ACTCOSS and WCHM also identify a number of other barriers to women entering the workforce.

Representatives of ACTCOSS and WCHM will provide evidence before the House Employment and Workplace Relations Committee in Committee Room 1R3 Parliament House Canberra on Thursday 28 May from 11.15 am to discuss their submission and other factors that may impact disproportionately on women's employment options, and the adequacy of current data to reliably monitor employment changes that may impact on pay equity issues.

The Committee will continue to welcome submissions to the inquiry.

Further details on the inquiry, including the terms of reference, background documents, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/ewr">http://www.aph.gov.au/ewr</a>, by contacting the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4162 or emailing <a href="mailto:ewr.reps@aph.gov.au">ewr.reps@aph.gov.au</a>. This hearing will be webcast live (audio only) on: <a href="mailto:http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/">http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</a>

**For media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Sharryn Jackson, on (02) 6277 4044 **For background information**, contact the Committee Secretary, on (02) 6277 4162

Telephone: 02 6277 4162
Facsimile: 02 6277 4773
E-mail: ewr.reps@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/ewr