Issued: 26 May 2010



HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING

INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIANS IN AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS

Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4573

Email: edt.reps@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/edt

Facsimile: 02 6277 4773

Shortage of teacher librarians – a major concern for ACT school libraries

An ACT perspective on the issues facing school libraries will be presented when the Australian School Library Association (ACT) appears before the House of Representatives Education Committee, as part of an inquiry into school libraries and teacher librarians in Australian schools.

ASLA ACT is the professional association for all those interested in, or engaged in, aspects of education in school libraries in the ACT. It aims to promote the interests of Teacher Librarians by providing a forum for professional discussion and growth.

"While there are some consistent messages coming through in written submissions and oral evidence, it is important that the committee gains a balanced and informed response by understanding the issues as they affect each jurisdiction," Committee Chair Sharon Bird (Member for Cunningham, NSW) said.

"ASLA ACT has raised concerns in its submission over the number of schools in the ACT which do not have a trained teacher librarian. It has also described the career path for Teacher Librarians as 'nonexistent' and the committee looks forward to examining these issues in more detail."

Details for the public hearing into school libraries and teacher librarians are as follows:

Date/Time: Thursday, 27 May 2010, 9:35am*

Where: Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra

Webcast: (Audio only) Live on http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

* Media please note: A short private meeting will be held at 9.30am following which members of the public and media will be admitted for the public hearing.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird MP on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4578, email edt.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's webpage at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/edt/