

Issued: 12 May 2010



HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIANS IN AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

Education Committee to meet with Electronic Resources Australia

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Education and Training will meet with Electronic Resources Australia (ERA) as part of its inquiry into school libraries and teacher librarians in Australian schools.

ERA is a consortium of over 1200 Australian libraries, including 650 school libraries. ERA supports collaborative subscription by libraries to e-resources such as electronic journals, e-books, encyclopaedias and other types of information content available online.

The committee has received evidence which suggests that an annual outlay of around \$4.8 million would provide quality e-resource products to every Australian student. The committee has heard that the cost is considerably less than if each school took out an individual subscription.

"The increasing importance of digital literacy to students and the important role that teacher librarians play in this area have been highlighted during the committee's hearings," Committee Chair Sharon Bird MP (Cunningham, NSW) said.

"Currently only 650 of 9,500 Australian schools subscribe to online resources managed by ERA and the committee is interested in investigating further the potential for a national subscription program of online resources for students."

Details of the public hearing for inquiry into school libraries and teacher librarians are as follows:

- Date/Time: Thursday, 13 May 2010, 9.35am*
- Where: Committee Room 1R6, Parliament House, Canberra

Webcast: (Audio only) Live on http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

* Media please note: A short private meeting will be held at 9.30am following which members of the public and media will be admitted for the public hearing.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House office).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4573, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt/</u>