

Chair: Paul Neville MP

<u>New Inquiry</u>

Inquiry into National Road Safety: how can we stop more deaths on our roads?

The House of Representatives Transport and Regional Services Committee is to conduct an inquiry into national road safety.

The target of the National Road Safety Strategy is to achieve a 40 per cent reduction in the annual number of road fatalities in the first decade of the new century (from 9.3 fatalities per 100,000 population in 1999 to no more than 5.6 fatalities per 100,000 population in 2010).

However, the national road trauma rate appears to have plateaued at about nine fatalities per 100,000 population.

The Minister for Transport and Regional Services, the Hon John Anderson MP, has asked the Committee to review the current National Road Safety Strategy 2001-2010, and the National Road Safety Action Plans for 2001 to 2004, and identify what is impeding progress in reducing road trauma.

House Transport Committee Chair, Mr Paul Neville MP, says: "The Minister has called for a fresh approach with innovative but realistic ideas to meet the 2010 target. We are seeking input from the community and experts into this process."

Written submissions are due by 17 October 2003.

As part of the inquiry the committee will also conduct a one day public forum in Canberra on Friday 28 November 2003.

"We will call a number of key stakeholders and people to discuss whether the target remains appropriate, how to strengthen and accelerate the implementation of existing measures, and to provide new ideas on additional ways of reducing road trauma," Mr Neville said.

The House Transport Committee produced the well-received report on managing fatigue in transport, *Beyond the Midnight Oil*, in October 2000.

For media comment, please contact:

Steve Gibbons, House Transport and Regional Services Committee deputy Chair, on (03) 5443 9055

Further information, including the terms of reference, advice on making submissions (which are due by 17 October 2003), can be found at www.aph.gov.au/house_roadsafety or obtained by phoning the Committee secretariat on (02) 6277 2352 or emailing at trs.reps@aph.gov.au