

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND REGIONAL SERVICES

INQUIRY INTO NATIONAL ROAD SAFETY

PUBLIC HEARING - ONE DAY FORUM: CANBERRA

Friday, 28 November 2003

PROPOSED PROGRAM

Venue: Committee Room 2R1

Parliament House

8.30 a.m. Introduction and overview

Mr Kym Bills
 Executive Director
 Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB)

State Perspectives views on National Road Safety.

8.50 a.m. Victoria

Mr Eric Howard General Manager - Road Safety

9.10 a.m. Western Australia

Mr Iain Cameron
 Executive Director
 Office of Road Safety

9.30 a.m. Queensland

Mr Gary Mahon
 Director Strategic Policy Team
 Land Transport and Safety

9.50 a.m. South Australia

Mr Phil Allan Acting Director Road Safety-Transport Planning

.../2

Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au



10.10 a.m. New South Wales

Roads Transport Authority (RTA)

- Dr Don Carseldine ManagerSpeed Management
- Dr Soames Job General Manager Road Safety Strategy

StaySafe Committee

- The Hon Rick Colless MLC Committee Member
- Mr Ian Faulks Committee Manager

10.35 a.m. Morning Tea

10.45 a.m. Department of Transport and Regional Services (DOTARS)
Safer Road Infrastructure: Blackspot Program

- Mr Robert Hogan
 Assistant Secretary
 Transport Programmes South East Branch
- Mr Barry O'Neill
 Director
 Investment Policy and Black Spots

Vehicle Safety Australian Design Rules Transport Infrastructure Policy Vehicle Safety Standards

Mr Peter Robertson
 General Manager
 Vehicle Safety Standards Branch

.../3

Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au



11.15 a.m. Rural Speed Limits

Professor Max Cameron Monash Accident Research Unit

Road Safety Planning for the Future

Professor Ian Johnston
 Monash Accident Research Unit

11.45 a.m. Cultural Perspectives

- Dr Zoe Sofoulis
 Centre for Cultural Research
 University of Western Sydney
- Dr Sarah Redshaw
 Centre for Cultural Research
 University of Western Sydney

12.15 p.m. Bus and Coach Industry View

Mr Michael Apps
 Executive Director

 Bus Industry Confederation

12.30 p.m. Lunch

1.15 p.m. Motorcyclists

Mr Rick Bedford National President Ulysses Club Inc.

1.30 p.m. Pedestrians

Mr Harold Scruby Pedestrian Council of NSW

.../4

Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au



- 1.45 p.m. Safer road infrastructure:Low cost high-return measures
 - Mr Ray Taylor
 General Manager Business and Marketing
 ARRB Transport Research Ltd
- 2.00 p.m. Vehicle safety-industry view
 - Mr Peter Sturrock
 Chief Executive
 Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI)
- 2.15 p.m. Heavy vehicle safety strategy
 - Mr Peter MakehamNational Road Transport Commission
- 2.30 p.m. Trucking: Driver and Industry Perspective
 - Mr Rod Hannifey Driver Perspective
 - Mr Chris Althaus
 Chief Executive Officer
 Australian Trucking Association
- 3.00 p.m. Afternoon Tea
- 3.15 p.m. Australian Automobile Association Perspective (AAA) Australian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP)
 - Mr Lauchlan McIntosh Executive Director
 - Mr James Hurnall Director Technical
 - Mr John Metcalfe Director Research and Policy

.../5

Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au



- 3.45 p.m. People in urban areas. . . safe walking and cycling
 - Mr Michael YeatesCyclists Urban Speedlimit Task Force
- 4.00 p.m. General Discussion
- 4.45 p.m. Conclusion of program

Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au ABN: 185 262 877 40