House of Representatives Committees

| House of Representatives Standing Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs

Navigation: Contents | Next Page

Preliminary Pages

Membership of the Committee


Mr Graham Perrett MP


Deputy Chair

The Hon. Judi  Moylan MP



Mr Shayne Neumann MP



Ms Michelle Rowland (from 14/08/12)

Ms Laura Smyth MP



The Hon. Dr Sharman Stone MP

Mr Mike Symon MP (until 14/08/12)

Mr Ross Vasta MP


Supplementary Members

Mr Josh Frydenberg MP

Mr Dan Tehan MP


Committee Secretariat



Dr Anna Dacre

Inquiry Secretary

Ms Natalya Wells

Terms of reference

On 31 May 2012 the Selection Committee of the House of Representatives referred the National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2012 for inquiry and report.


List of abbreviations and acronyms


2010 Brown Bill

National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2010


Australian Law Reform Commission

Integrity Bill

The National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2012


Law Council of Australia


Law Enforcement Integrity Commissioner Act 2006 (Cth)

PID Bill

Public Interest Disclosure Bill

Royal Commissions Act

Royal Commissions Act 1902 (Cth)

List of recommendations

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the House Selection Committee request a ruling from the Speaker of the House on the status of the National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2012 prior to its debate.


Recommendation 2

The Committee recommends that the National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2012 not proceed prior to the establishment of a Parliamentary Joint Select Committee to investigate the feasibility and cost of establishing a National Integrity Commission, taking into account the following matters:

  • the threshold issue of desirability of such a commission;

  • the extent of the powers granted to the Commissioners; and

  • related reforms such as the review of the Royal Commissions Act 1902, the report on Australia’s compliance with the United Nations Convention against Corruption, the results of public consultation on the National Anti-Corruption Plan, and the outcome of debate on the Public Interest Disclosure Bill 2012.


  • Navigation: Contents | Next Page

    Back to top