

# Appendix C—List of Hearings and Witnesses

Organisations and persons are listed in alphabetical order under each public hearing day.

Wednesday, 18 May 2005 - Eveleigh

#### **ATP Innovations Pty Ltd**

Dr Mark Bradley, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Hamish Hawthorn, Director, Life Sciences and Technology

Mr Charles Lindop, Director, Business Programs

#### Austrade

Mr Lino Strangis, Manager, Industry Policy Unit

#### Citrix Systems Australasia R&D Pty Ltd

Mr Martin Duursma, Vice President, Advanced Products Group

#### **CSIRO**

Mr Jon King, General Manager

Dr Katherine Kociuba, Senior Manager, Commercialisation, Corporate Business Development and Commercialisation Group

Dr Jack Steele, Chief of Staff, Business Development and Commercialisation Group

#### **Debraneys Pty Ltd**

Mr John Tregea, Technology Director

## Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr Matthew Griffiths, COMET Program

#### **Divergent Capital**

Mr David Nelson, Managing Director

## **Gazelle Monitoring System Pty Ltd**

Mr Bruce Johansson, Chairman

#### Meat & Livestock Australia

Dr Reuben Rose, General Manager, Livestock Production Innovation

#### **Neo Technology Ventures Pty Ltd**

Mr Brett Morris, Chief Executive

Mr Marc Woodward, Executive Director

## **Proteome Systems Limited**

Dr Keith Williams, Founder Director

#### Thehairstyler.com

Mr Michael Gerace, Director/Web Developer

#### Monday, 23 May 2005 – Canberra

## Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies

Dr Peter Cook, Chief Executive

#### **Cooperative Research Centres Association Inc**

Dr Anne Campbell, Executive Manager

#### **Pest Animal Control Cooperative Research**

Mr Christopher Buller, Business Manager

## **Rural R&D Corporation Chairs Committee**

Mr Alan Newton, Executive Manager

## Sustainable Tourism Holdings and Decipher Technologies Pty Ltd

Mr Peter O'Clery, Managing Director

Monday, 30 May 2005 – Canberra

**Chief Scientist** 

Dr Robin Batterham,

Monday, 20 June 2005 – Canberra

**CEA Technologies Pty Ltd** 

Mr David Gaul, President

**Environmental Research and Information Consortium Pty Ltd** 

Mr Robert Gourlay, Managing Director

Thursday, 4 August 2005 – Melbourne

Private capacity

Dr John Yencken

Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

Mr Peter Laver, Vice President and Chairman, Project and Activities Committee

Professor Ian Rae, Technical Director

**Australian Innovation Association** 

Dr James Fox, Deputy Chairman

**Cooperative Research Centres Committee** 

Dr Geoffrey Vaughan, Chairman

**Dynamic Hearing Pty Ltd** 

Dr Elaine Saunders, Chief Executive Officer

**GBC Scientific Equipment Pty Ltd** 

Mr Neil O'Loghlen, Strategic Affairs Consultant

#### **KCS Pty Ltd**

Mr Kurt Schnepf, Managing Director

## La Trobe University

Associate Professor Paul Pigram, Associate Dean (Commercialisation and Industry), Faculty of Science, Technology and Engineering

## La Trobe University R&D Park

Mrs Susan Bell, Director

#### Melbourne Ventures Pty Ltd

Dr Charles Day, Managing Director

#### The University of Melbourne

Professor Frank P. Larkins, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

#### Friday, 5 August 2005 – Adelaide

#### **Private capacity**

Mr Michael Cochran

#### **BAE Systems Australia**

Dr Susan Anderson, Research and Technology Manager

#### **GRP Technology**

Mr Graham Porter, Chief Executive Officer

#### Playford Capital Pty Ltd

Ms Amanda Heyworth, Chief Executive Officer

### Robert Taylor and Associates Pty Ltd

Mr Robert Taylor, Director

## Monday, 5 September 2005 – Canberra

#### Australian Institute for Commercialisation Ltd

Mr Alex Blauensteiner, TechFast Manager, Queensland

Dr Rowan Gilmore, Chief Executive Officer

Dr John Kapeleris, Director, Regional Commercialisation Services

## **Defence Science and Technology Organisation**

Dr Ken Anderson, Deputy Chief Defence Scientist (Policy)

Mr Andrew Gray, Assistant Secretary

#### Monday, 12 September 2005 – Canberra

#### Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

Dr Warren Bradey, General Manager, Access

Dr George Collins, Chief of Research

Dr Miriam Goodwin, Senior Adviser, Science Policy and Planning

#### National Health and Medical Research Council

Ms Suzanne Northcott, Executive Director, Centre for Research Management and Policy

#### Monday, 28 November 2005 – Canberra

#### Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Tricia Berman, General Manager, Innovation Policy Branch

Ms Patricia Kelly, Deputy Secretary

Mr Craig Pennifold, Head, Innovation Division

#### **AusIndustry**

Mr Bill Peel, Executive General Manager

Ms Judith Zielke, General Manager, Innovation and Collaboration

#### IP Australia

Dr Ian Heath, Director General

### Monday, 5 December 2005 – Canberra

#### Australian Research Council

Mr Gregory Harper, Deputy Chief Executive

Professor Peter Hoj, Chief Executive

Dr Stephen Walker, Director, Engineering and Environmental Sciences

#### Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

Mr Philip Allnutt, General Manager, ICT Industry Branch

Mr Keith Besgrove, Chief General Manager, Information Economy Division

Dr Lee Boldeman, Manager, Information Economy Division

#### Department of Education, Science and Training

Dr Evan Arthur, Group Manager, Innovation and Research Systems Group

Ms Jessie Borthwick, Group Manager, Science Group

# **Inspections**

Organisations are listed in alphabetical order under each inspection day. Representatives from organisations who led the inspection are also listed in alphabetical order.

# 14 April 2005 – Melbourne

## CSIRO Energy Technologies – Clayton Laboratories

Dr Greg Simpson, Molecular Science, Deputy Chief and Program Leader

#### CSL Ltd

Dr Andrew Cuthbertson, Chief Scientific Officer

## **CRC-P Polymers**

Dr Ian Dagley, Centre Director

#### Thursday, 19 May 2005 – Sydney

#### **Argus Solutions**

Mr Bruce Lyman, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Greg Sampson, National Sales and Marketing Director

#### **Evolution Broadcast Pty Ltd (Nexus Systems)**

Mr Tom Barnett, Executive Director

Mr Mark Stoneham, Executive Director

Mr David Sabine, Director Technology and Development

#### Sirtex Medical

Dr Bruce Gray, Chairman

Mr Gilman Wong, Chief Operating Officer

Mr Marius van den Berg, Sales and Marketing Director