Chair – Mr Petro Georgiou MP Deputy – Mr Harry Quick MP

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 6 October 2006

Public Hearing in Canberra

The science and application of geosequestration

Representatives from several Australian Government Departments and Agencies, including the Departments of Environment and Heritage (DEH), Industry, Tourism and Resources (DITR) Education, Science and Training (DEST) and Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) will appear at a public hearing to be held in Canberra on Monday 9 October 2006. The hearing is the third for the House of Representatives Science and Innovation Committee's inquiry into the science and application of geosequestration.

It is expected that the hearing will discuss the economic viability of geosequestration and its potential to contribute to Australia's portfolio of strategies to manage its greenhouse gas emissions, particularly those produced from the energy generation sector. The hearing will also consider the Australian Government's support for the continued development of geosequestration technology through its participation in a range of national and international forums.

The Minister for Education, Science and Training, Julie Bishop, has requested that the Committee inquire into and report on the science and application of geosequestration technology in Australia, with particular reference to:

- The science underpinning geosequestration technology;
- The potential environmental and economic benefits and risks of such technology;
- The skill base in Australia to advance the science of geosequestration technology;
- Regulatory and approval issues governing geosequestration technology and trials; and
- How to best position Australian industry to capture possible market applications.

Venue:	Committee Room 2R2, Parliament House, Canberra
Date:	Monday 9 October 2006
4:35 pm	Australian Government (DEH, DITR, DEST and DFAT)
6:00 pm	Hearings close

The public hearing will be broadcast internally (audio only) on HMS radio frequency 98.7. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at

<u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/scin/geosequestration/index.htm</u> or by contacting the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4150 or emailing <u>scin.reps@aph.gov.au</u>

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Mr Petro Georgiou at Parliament House on (02) 6277 4419 or at his electorate office (03) 9882 3677.

For information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4150