



JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

Issued: Tuesday 6 May 2003

Inquiry into pay parking in the Parliamentary Zone

Inquiry into Pay Parking in the Parliamentary Zone Public Hearing, Friday 9 May 2003, Canberra

Federal Parliament's Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital is investigating a proposal by the National Capital Authority to introduce pay parking in the Parliamentary Zone.

The introduction of pay parking is part of a proposed group of initiatives for the long-term development of the Parliamentary Zone, as set out in the *Parliamentary Zone Review Outcomes Report* released by the Authority in March 2000.

The first of two public hearings is to be held in Committee Room 2S1 at Parliament House, Canberra, this Friday (9 May).

The Committee will be hearing evidence from a number of the national institutions situated in the Zone who are likely to be affected by pay parking, including the National Archives, the National Gallery, the National Library and Old Parliament House. Also appearing will be significant Government departments in the Barton area which are likely to feel the impact of the proposal, such as the Australian Public Service Commission and the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. The Community and Public Sector Union, which represents the interests of its members who work in the Parliamentary Zone, will also be appearing before the Committee.

A second hearing is scheduled for Friday 30 May, in which the National Capital Authority and the ACT Government will present the case for pay parking.

Public Hearing: Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories:

Inquiry into Pay Parking in the Parliamentary Zone

Where: Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House

When: 9:30am - 4:00pm

9:30am	- Community and Public Sector Union
10:30am	- Australian Public Service Commission
10:50am	- National Library of Australia
11:30am	- Mr Spiro Adamopoulos & Mr Michael Richards
12:00pm	- Property Council of Australia, ACT Division
12:30pm	- Canberra International Airport
1:00pm	- National Archives of Australia
1:40pm	- Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Australia (AFFA)
	- Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
2:00pm	- Old Parliament House / National Portrait Gallery
2:40pm	- National Gallery of Australia
3:20pm	- Friends of the National Library of Australia
3:40pm	- Pedal Power ACT Inc.
4:00pm	- Adjournment

For **media comment**, please contact: Senator Ross Lightfoot, Chairman, Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories, on (08) 9344 8900

For **background information**, including the full terms of reference and copies of submissions, please contact the Committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4355 or visit the Committee website at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/

Telephone: 02 6277 4355 Facsimile: 02 6277 2067 E-mail: jscncet@aph.gov.au PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600