

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

New Inquiry: Current and future governance arrangements for the Indian Ocean Territories

Issued: 21 February 2006

Chairman: Senator Ross Lightfoot

Inquiry into governance of the Indian Ocean Territories

- Public Hearing, Perth 22 February 2006 -

Federal Parliament's External Territories Committee is currently conducting an inquiry into current and future governance arrangements for the Indian Ocean Territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

As part of its inquiry, the Committee will be holding a public hearing in Perth on **22 February 2006**. The witnesses appearing are:

| 9.00 am | Ms Virginia Miller, WA Department of Premier and Cabinet (Submission 11) |
|---------|--|
| 9.45am | Mr John Sorensen, Director Northern Bay Pty Ltd (Submission 13) |
| 10.15am | Christmas Island Phosphates |
| 10.45am | Mr Ron Grant, President of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands Shire Council and Cocos |
| | (Keeling) Islands Economic Development Association (Submissions 5 & 6) |
| 11.30am | Mr Kel Watkins, Proprietor, Freightshop (Submission 1) |
| 12.15pm | Mr Robert Jarvis (submission 3) |

The Committee expects to receive a broad range of evidence covering matters ranging from basic issues of governance, provision of services under bilateral agreements, and Commonwealth management of the Indian Ocean Territories, through to detailed questions of the impact government decisions may have on economic development, quarantine and customs charges.

The Chairman of the Joint Committee, Senator Ross Lightfoot, said: "Issues of governance in Australia's external territories can be quite complex. The Committee expects its deliberations to assist government in cutting through these complexities to find solutions to common problems."

To date, the Committee has received thirteen submissions and taken evidence from witnesses on Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands in the Indian Ocean.

PUBLIC HEARING—IOTs Governance Inquiry—Perth, Wednesday 22 February 2006

WHERE: Committee Room 4, Legislative Council, 1110 Hay Street, West Perth

WHEN: Wednesday 22 February 2006, 9am–1pm

Public and media most welcome

To arrange media comment:

contact the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Ross Lightfoot on (08) 9344 8900 (electorate office)

For further information: Please contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4355, via email at jscncet@aph.gov.au, or visit the Committee's website at www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet

Telephone: 02 6277 4355
Facsimile: 02 6277 8478
E-mail: jscncet@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600