

Appendix C - List of Witnesses

Monday, 26 July 1999 - Melbourne

Individuals

Mr Julian Stephens

Mattel Pty Ltd

Mr Ian Anderson, Director

Mr Michael McDonald, Solicitors

OVID Australia Pty Ltd

Mr Andrew Fraser, Director, Legal Affairs

Mr Edward Horton, Director, Marketing

Dr Jonathan Upfal, Chief Executive Officer

Victorian Employers Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Ms Suzanne Harmer, Legal Research Officer, Economics & Research Services

Thursday, 12 August 1999 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Information and Security Law Division

Mr Steven Fox, Principal Legal Officer, Intellectual Property Branch

Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Mr John Thornton, Deputy Director

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Kate Callaghan, Policy Officer, WTO Intellectual Property Unit

Mr David Livingston, Policy Officer, WTO Intellectual Property Unit

Mr Mark Pierce, Assistant Secretary, Services & Intellectual Property Branh

Mr Tony Taubman, Director, Intellectual Property Unit

Thursday, 26 August 1999 - Canberra

Australian Customs Service

Mr Stephen Adams, Assistant Director, Commercial Services Division

Mr Phil Burns, National Manager, Import/Export Management

Mr Peter Gulbransen, Director, Commercial Services Division

Australian Federal Police

Mr Paul Brown, Federal Agent

Mr Andy Hughes, Director, International and Operations

Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee

Associate Professor Philip Griffith, Member

Mr TJ Mullarvey, Deputy Executive Director

Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee

Professor Don Aitkin, Member

Department of Parliamentary Library

Ms Nola Adcock, Deputy Head, Information and Research Services

Department of the Parliamentary Library

Mr John Templeton, Acting Parliamentary Librarian

Thursday, 2 September 1999 - Canberra

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Ms Margaret Arblaster, General Manager, Regulatory Affairs Division

Mr Hank Spier, Chief Executive officer

Department of Industry Science & Resources

Mr Rodger Braid, Acting Assistant Director, IP Australia

Mr Rick Gould, Deputy Director General, IP Australia

IP Australia

Dr Vivienne Thom. Commissioner of Patents

Motion Picture Association

Mr William Baker, President and Chief Operating Officer

Mr Jeffrey Hardee, Vice President Asia Pacific

Mr Stephen Howes, Director, Australasian Film & Video Security

Monday, 6 September 1999 - Sydney

Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society

Ms Stephanie Faulkner, General Counsel

Australian Subscription Television & Radio Association

Ms Lynette Ireland, Legal and Policy Coordinator

Mr Bruce Meagher, Member

Ms Debra Richards, Executive Director

Business Software Alliance

Ms Rebecca Lenaburg, Vice President

Business Software Association of Australia

Mr Maurice Gonsalves

Mr Jim Macnamara, Chairman

Council of Australian State Libraries

Mr Dagmar Schmidmaier, Chair

FOXTEL Management Pty Ltd

Mr Peter Smart, Director of Engineering

John Dickie Communications

Mr John Dickie

Mindport

Mr Peter Iles, Regional Manager, ASIA Pacific

New South Wales Police Service

Mr Colin Dyson, Detective Inspector, Commercial Crime Agency Sergeant David Shepherd, Legal Officer, Commercial Crime Agency

OPTUS Communication

Ms Trudie Bean. Counsel

Tress Cocks & Maddox

Mr Alistair Little, Partner

VISCOPY

Ms Anna Ward, Executive Officer

Tuesday, 7 September 1999 - Sydney

Arts Law Centre of Australia

Ms Delia Browne, Executive Director

Ms Sally McCausland, Legal Officer, Arts Network

Australian Consumers' Association

Mr Charles Britton, Senior Policy Officer, Information Technology and Communications

Australian Copyright Council

Ms Elizabeth Baulch, Executive Officer and Principal Legal Officer

Australian Visual Software Distributors Association

Mr James Dwyer, Legal Adviser

Mr Michael Ephraim, Vice-Chairman (Interactive)

Ms Megan Simes, Chief Executive

Copyright Agency Limited

Mr Michael Fraser, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Marie-Louise Symons, Corporate Lawyer

Golden West Network

Mr Trevor Sutherland, Station Operations Manager

Kitmog Pty Ltd

Mr Robert Kerrigan, Managing Director

Music Industry Piracy Investigations

Mr Michael Speck, Manager

Music Industry Piracy Investigations Pty Ltd

Mr Michael Williams, Solicitor acting for Music Industry Piracy Investigations Pty Ltd

Seven Network

Ms Catherine Rothery, Legal Counsel, Regulatory and Business Affairs

Thursday, 30 September 1999 - Canberra

National Indigenous Arts Advocacy Association

Mr Keven Francis. Executive Director

Ms Terri Janke, Consultant

Tuesday, 5 October 1999 - Brisbane

Anti Counterfeiting Action Group

Mr J Ramsden, Exexutive Director

Mr Scott Standen, Director

Arts Law Centre of Queensland Incorporated Management Committee

Ms Marett Leiboff

Australia Council's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board

Ms Fay Nelson, Director

Mattel Pty Ltd

Mr Ian Anderson, Director, Business Development

Mr Michael McDonald, Solicitor

Trade Mark Investigation Services

Mr Ken Taylor, Principal

University of Queensland

Mr Paul Sugden, Lecturer in Law