Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Mr Kim Wilkie MP

Lombok Treaty public hearing

The Treaties Committee will hear further evidence for its inquiry into the Australia Indonesia Security Treaty, also known as the Lombok Treaty, at a public hearing in Sydney on Monday 30 April 2007.

The Committee will hear from a number of organisations and individuals, including Dr Malcolm Cook, director of the Asia and the Pacific Program at the Lowy Institute, and Dr Ben Saul, senior lecturer at the University of Sydney's Faculty of Law.

Dr Cook's submission welcomes the Agreement as a framework for future cooperation across a range of fields, however he also cautions that, like the 1995 security agreement with Indonesia, the Agreement is more likely to be vulnerable to the bilateral relationship than be in a position to moderate it.

Dr Saul's submission examines a number of the Agreement's provisions. Looking specifically at provisions on counter-terrorism cooperation, he points out that Australia and Indonesia have very different definitions of 'terrorism' and, as a result, the extent of the obligation to cooperate under the Agreement is unclear.

The Committee has received over 50 submissions to the inquiry which are available on the Committee's website:

www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/6december2006/index.htm

The public hearing will be held at the Commonwealth Offices, Level 8, Charterbridge House, 70 Phillip Street, Sydney, on Monday, 30 April 2007 from 9.00 am. Further information about the inquiry is available on the Committee's website:

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM

•	9.00 am – 9.20 am	New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties (Sub 22)
•	9.20 am – 9.50 am	Dr Malcolm Cook, Lowy Institute (Sub 3)
•	9.50 am - 10.10 am	Prof G Peter King and Dr Jim Elmslie, Uni of Sydney (Subs 30 & 21)
•	10.10 am - 10.40 am	Dr Ben Saul, University of Sydney (Sub 43)
•	11.00 am - 11.20 am	Hon John Dowd, International Commission of Jurists (Sub 39)
•	11.20 am - 11.40 am	Australia West Papua Association (Sydney), (Sub 6)
•	11.40 am - 12.00 pm	Australian Coalition for Transitional Justice in East Timor (Sub 28)
•	12.00 pm – 12.20 pm	Australian Conservation Foundation (Sub 36)
•	12.20 pm – 1.00 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Department of Defence

MEDIA CONTACTS

Media contact: David Colmer (Dr Andrew Southcott's Office) (02) 6277 4283 or 0412 550 946

John Delany (Mr Kim Wilkie's Office) (02) 6277 2255 or 0419 993 677

Background: James Rees (Committee Secretary) (02) 6277 4642

Telephone: 02 6277 4002 Facsimile: 02 6277 2219 E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600