MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 7 December 2006

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Kim Wilkie MP

Inquiry into the Indonesia Security Treaty

The Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee is inquiring into the recently signed security treaty with Indonesia.

The Agreement between Australia and the Republic of Indonesia on the Framework for Security Cooperation, also known as the Lombok Treaty or the Indonesia Security Treaty, was tabled yesterday in Federal Parliament. The treaty was automatically referred to the Treaties Committee for inquiry and the Committee is currently accepting submissions.

"The Treaties Committee welcomes submissions from individuals and organisations with an interest in Indonesia," Andrew Southcott, Chair of the Treaties Committee said.

The Agreement contains provisions on defence, law enforcement, counter-terrorism, intelligence, maritime security, aviation safety and security, proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, emergency cooperation and cooperation in international organisations on security-related issues.

The Government has stated in its national interest analysis that "the Agreement will be Australia's first security treaty with a regional country to cover comprehensively traditional and non-traditional security threats. It should set the benchmark for others in the region and will contribute to the stability and prosperity of both countries and the broader Asia-Pacific region."

Submissions can be made until 23 February 2007. The Committee will begin public hearings in February and is due to report to Parliament by 12 June 2007. More information on the Committee's inquiry, including the treaty text and national interest analysis, is available on the Committee's website:

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/6december2006/index.htm

Or by contacting the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS

Media contacts: Wayne Arbon (Dr Southcott's Office) (02) 6277 4283 or 0433 311 525

Michael Watts (Mr Wilkie's Office) (02) 6277 2255 or 0419 993 677

Background: James Rees (Committee Secretary) (02) 6277 4642

Telephone: 02 6277 4002 Facsimile: 02 6277 2219 E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600