Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

House of Representatives Committees

Joint Standing Committee on Treaties

Committee activities (inquiries and reports)

Treaties tabled on 28 February 2012

Inquiry home | Terms of reference | Public hearings | Media releases | Report 125


The Committee encourages submissions to its inquiry from a wide range of individuals and organisations. While we prefer submissions lodged in an original, electronic format, we do not want to exclude contributors who do not have access to computing facilities. Therefore, we will accept submissions in a range of formats which may include typewritten and handwritten documents.

Submissions to this inquiry are listed below in Portable Document Format (PDF). If an alternative format (ie, hard copy or large print) is required, please contact the Committee Secretariat. More submissions will be added to the list when they are received and authorised for publication.

For more information on submissions, please refer to our brochure on preparing a submission.

To view or print the submissions, you will need Adobe Acrobat® PDF Reader, which can be downloaded free of charge from Adobe

There is currently a total of 37 submissions and 2 supplementary submissions in the following list.

  1. Justice Action (PDF 274KB)
  2. Professor Ben Saul (PDF 132KB)
  3. Edmund Rice Centre for Justice and Community Education (PDF 139KB)
  4. Professor Richard Harding (PDF 1133KB)
  5. Illawarra Legal Centre (PDF 106KB)
  6. Human Rights Law Centre (PDF 183KB)
  7. Graduate Women Victoria (PDF 407KB)
  8. Youth Justice Coalition (PDF 180KB)
  9. Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (PDF 239KB)
  10. Prisoners' Legal Service Inc (PDF 2060KB)
  11. Hunter Community Legal Centre (PDF 126KB)
  12. Australian Centre for Disability Law (ACDL) (PDF 339KB)
  13. Australian Human Rights Commission (PDF 232KB)
  14. NSW Young Lawyers Human Rights Committee (PDF 130KB)
  15. Amnesty International Australia (PDF 136KB)
  16. Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) (PDF 385KB)
  17. The Office of Police Integrity (Victoria) (OPI) (PDF 4752KB)
  18. Public Interest Advocacy Centre Ltd (PDF 595KB)
  19. Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture Inc (PDF 172KB)
  20. Law Council of Australia (PDF 363KB)
  21. NSW Ombudsman (PDF 132KB)
  22. Ombudsman of New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, Queensland, South Australia, Northern Territory and the Commonwealth (PDF 119KB)
  23. 22.1 Supplementary to submission 22
    Commonwealth Ombudsman (PDF 294KB)

  24. Public Interest Law Clearing House NSW (PILCH) (PDF 146KB)
  25. Civil Liberties Australia (PDF 178KB)
  26. Australian Lawyers Alliance (PDF 251KB)
  27. Tasmanian Ombudsman (PDF 2295KB)
  28. Marrickville Legal Centre (PDF 420KB)
  29. National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Services (NATSILS) (PDF 1070KB)
  30. Refugee Council of Australia (PDF 270KB)
  31. Ms Sjharn Leeson, Dr John Rynne and Dr Catrin Smith (PDF 227KB)
  32. Uniting Justice Australia (PDF 407KB)
  33. Victorian Ombudsman (PDF 1988KB)
  34. Australian Federation of Graduate Women (PDF 1135KB)
  35. Attorney-General's Department (PDF 114KB)
  36. 34.1 Supplementary to submission 34
    Attorney-General's Department (PDF 649KB)

  37. Therapeutic Goods Administration (PDF 246KB)
  38. Confidential
  39. United Nations Association of Australia (PDF 629KB)

Back to top

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.