

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES

Inquiry into Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament, and
Treaties Tabled 16 March 2009



Chair: Mr Kelvin Thomson MP

ASEAN Free Trade Agreement to be examined by the Treaties Committee in Darwin hearing

Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee will hear from Government and industry groups about the likely effects of the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area on the Northern Territory economy at a public hearing to be held in Darwin on Thursday, 7 May.

'The Northern Territory is geographically close to the members of ASEAN and has significant export trade, particularly in livestock, with these countries,' the Committee's Chair, Kelvin Thomson MP, stated. 'The Trade Agreement may open even more opportunities for the Northern Territory economy and community with these near neighbours.'

The Committee will also hear from the Environment Centre of the Northern Territory, the Territory's peak non-government environmental group, as part of the Committee's inquiry into Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament.

While in Darwin, the Committee will also inspect a monitoring station used to detect radioactive debris from atmospheric, underground and underwater nuclear explosions. The station is part of an international network of monitoring stations designed to detect a nuclear explosion, such as a nuclear weapons test, anywhere on earth. This international network is coordinated by the Preparatory Commission to the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organisation.

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM 9.30am – 12.20pm, Thursday, 7 May 2009 Venue: Litchfield Room, Northern Territory Parliament House, Darwin

9:30am Environment Centre of the Northern Territory

10:20am Department of the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory

11:00am Roundtable hearing:

International Business Council

Northern Territory Resources Council

Further information is available on the Committee's website: www.aph.gov.au/jsct

MEDIA CONTACTS

For Mr Kelvin Thomson MP (Chair) contact Mr Anthony Cianflone (03) 9350 5777 Background: Committee Secretary (02) 6277 4002

Telephone: 02 6277 4002
Facsimile: 02 6277 2219
E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au/jsct
Website: www.aph.gov.au/jsct

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600