

Issued: 18 February 2013

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON CONSTITUTIONAL RECOGNITION OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Chair: Ms Michelle Rowland MP

INQUIRY INTO CONSTITUTIONAL RECOGNITION OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Public Hearing on constitutional recognition of local government

At its second public hearing, in Sydney this week, the Committee will be investigating the potential success of a referendum on changing the Australian Constitution to effect financial recognition of local government. The Committee will hear from Mr Ron Williams about possible further legal challenges to the Commonwealth's funding powers, from representatives of individual local governments around Australia, and from relevant Commonwealth Government departments.

The Committee will be asking for evidence about and views on the proposed amendment to Section 96 of the Constitution which would read (proposed new words in italics):

The Parliament may grant financial assistance to any State *or to any local government body formed by State or Territory Legislation* on such terms and conditions as the Parliament sees fit.

Submissions to the inquiry can be found at:

http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary Business/Committees/House of Representatives Com mittees?url=jsclg/localgovt/subs.htm.

The full terms of reference are available on the Committee's website at www.aph.gov.au/jsclg.

Date:	Wednesday, 20 February 2013
Time:	9.30am – 3.30pm Program is listed below.
Venue:	Macquarie Room, NSW Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney
Webcast:	Live on http://www.aph.gov.au/News and Events/Watch Parliament (audio only)

For media comment: contact the Chair's media advisor, Nick Trainor on 0407 078 138. **For information on the inquiry:** contact the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4044 or, by email: <u>jsclg@aph.gov.au</u>

Public Hearing Program

Wednesday 20 February 2013 :: Macquarie Room :: New South Wales Parliament

Time	Witness
9.30am	Mr Ron Williams
10.00am	Cootamundra Shire Council; Port Macquarie-Hastings Council; City of Wagga Wagga (teleconference)
10.30am	Moreton Bay Regional Council; Mount Isa City Council; Cr Paul Bell; Longreach Regional Council (teleconference)
11.00am	Morning tea
11.15am	Mid-Murray Council (teleconference); City of Darebin (teleconference);
11.45am	Australian Local Government Association
12.30pm	Kingborough Council (teleconference); Naracoorte Lucindale Council (teleconference)
1.00pm	Lunch
1.45pm	Australian Services Union
2.15pm	Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport; Australian Electoral Commission; Attorney-General's Department
3.30pm	Close