

Appendix B -List of hearings and witnesses

Tuesday 25 February 2003 - Canberra

Department of Defence

Air Vice Marshal John BLACKBURN, Head, Policy Guidance and Analysis Mr Shane CARMODY, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy Commodore James GOLDRICK, Director-General, Military Strategy Commodore Paul GREENFIELD, Director-General, Maritime Development Air Marshal Angus HOUSTON, AO, AFC, Chief of Air Force Lieutenant General Peter LEAHY, AO, Chief of Army Vice Admiral Chris RITCHIE, AO, RAN, Chief of Navy Commodore Kevin TAYLOR, Director-General, Maritime, Land and Weapons Industry Capability

Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Mr Aldo BORGU, Program Manager Mr Hugh WHITE, Director

Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

Professor Paul DIBB, Chairman, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Australian Maritime Defence Council

Mr Trevor GRIFFETT, Member, Australian Maritime Defence Council; and Manager, Policy Development and Labour, Australian Shipowners Association

Mr John HIRST, Member, Australian Maritime Defence Council; and Executive Director, Association of Australian Ports and Marine Authorities

Rear Admiral Rowan Carlisle MOFFITT, RAM, Chairman, Australian Maritime Defence Council; and Deputy Chief of Navy

Mr Peter MORRIS, Member, Australian Maritime Defence Council; and Senior Director, Minerals Council of Australia

Mr Llewellyn Charles RUSSELL, Member, Australian Maritime Defence Council; and Chief Executive Officer, Shipping Australia Ltd

Private Capacity

Mr Gary Maurice BROWN (Private capacity)
Dr Michael EVANS (Private capacity)

Dr Alan Maurice RYAN (Private capacity)

Wednesday 26 February 2003 – Canberra

Australian Centre for Maritime Studies

Mr Harold John Parker ADAMS, Chairman of the Board

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Matthew John ANDERSON, Acting Director, Papua New Guinea Section Mr Peter Leo DOYLE, Acting Assistant Secretary, International Organisations Branch

Dr David Graham ENGEL, Director, Indonesia Section, South and South East Asia Division

Dr Gregory Alan FRENCH, Acting Legal Adviser

Mr David Gordon STUART, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Affairs Branch

Mr Graeme LADE, Director, Philippines, Singapore and Malaysia Section

Mr Bernard Francis LYNCH, Director, Defence Policy and Liaison Section, International Security Division

Mr Jeff ROACH, Director, Consular Information and Crisis Management Section Mr David Gordon STUART, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Affairs Branch

Future Directions International Pty Limited

Mr Lee George CORDNER, Managing Director

Private Capacity

Dr Alan DUPONT Air Marshal Selwyn David EVANS (Rtd) Dr John REEVE Brigadier Jim WALLACE (Rtd)

Tuesday 11 March 2003 - Sydney

The Maritime Union of Australia

Mr Paddy CRUMLIN, National Secretary

ADI Limited

Mr Lucio Di BARTOLOMEO, Managing Director Mr Philippe ODOUARD, Director, Major Programs Mr Martin WILLIAMS, Chief Naval Architect

Royal United Services Institute of New South Wales Incorporated

Vice Admiral David Willoughby LEACH, AC, CBE, LVO, RAN Rtd, President Brigadier David Ronald LEECE, PSM, RFD, ED, Rtd, Secretary and Public Officer

Private Capacity

Mr Alastair James Wishart COOPER Commodore Alan ROBERTSON

Wednesday 12 March 2003 - Melbourne

Department of Defence

Air Vice Marshal John BLACKBURN, Head, Policy Guidance and Analysis, Strategic Policy

Mr Shane CARMODY, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy

Commodore James GOLDRICK, Director-General, Military Strategy, Policy Guidance and Analysis, Department of Defence

Commodore Paul GREENFIELD, Director-General, Maritime Development, Department of Defence

Mr David LEARMONTH, Head of Industry Division, Defence Material Organisation

Navy League of Australia

Commander Geoffrey EVANS, RANR Rtd, Chairman, Federal Advisory Council Commander Graham McDonald HARRIS, RANR Rtd, National President

Australian Shipowners Association

Mr Trevor Alan GRIFFETT, Manager, Policy Development and Labour

Australian Defence Association

Mr Michael James O'CONNOR, Executive Director

Royal United Services Institute of Victoria

Air Commodore Michael John RAWLINSON, President, Royal United Services Lieutenant Commander John David REDMAN, Committee Member

Monday 24 March 2003 - Canberra

Department of Defence

Air Vice Marshal John BLACKBURN, Head, Policy Guidance and Analysis, Strategic Policy

Mr Shane CARMODY, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy

Commodore James GOLDRICK, Director-General, Military Strategy, Policy Guidance and Analysis

Commodore Paul GREENFIELD, Director-General, Maritime Development Commodore Kevin TAYLOR, Director-General, Maritime, Land and Weapons Industry Capability

Monday 16 June 2003 – Canberra

Returned and Services League of Australia

Rear Admiral Kenneth Allan DOOLAN (Retired), Member, Defence Committee