С

Appendix C – List of hearings, witnesses and inspections

Thursday, 12 October 2006—Canberra

Indigenous Business Australia

Mr Ian Myers, Deputy General Manager

Ms Valerie Price-Beck, Acting Assistant General Manager,

Ms Kaely Woods, Assistant General Manager, Policy and Partnerships

Dr Kamal Singhe, Policy and Research Advisor

Thursday, 19 October 2006—Canberra

Restaurant and Catering Australia

Mr John Hart, Chief Executive Officer

Thursday, 2 November 2006—Canberra

Australian Hotels Association

Mr Bill Healey, Director, National Affairs

Wednesday, 22 November 2006—Cairns

Australian Marine Training Network

Mrs Margie McKenzie, Chairperson

Mr Alan Wallish, Chairperson, Cairns Marine Tourism Skills Formation Strategy

Cairns Chamber of Commerce Inc.

Mr Alexander (Sandy) Whyte, Executive Officer

Port Douglas Daintree Tourism Ltd

Mr Ken Dobbs, Chairperson

Tourism Tropical North Queensland

Mr Robin Giason, Chief Executive Officer

Wet Tropics Management Authority

Mr Max Chappell, Acting Executive Officer

Thursday, 23 November 2006—Cairns

Cairns Business College Ltd

Ms Conni Fuerst, Deputy Principal

Djabugay Tours

Mr Willie Brim, Chairperson

Queensland Tourism Industry Council

Mr Daniel Gschwind, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Workers Union of Employees (Queensland)

Ms Sharon Winn, Organiser

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Mr Don Freeman, Director

Ms Judy Freeman, Director

Site visits

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Deep Sea Divers Den

Friday, 24 November 2006—Hamilton Island

Daydream Island Resort and Spa

Ms Sarah Power, Human Resources and Training Manager

Hamilton Island Enterprises Ltd

Mr Craig Davidson, Resort General Manager

Mr Ben McCarron, Recruitment, Training and Development Manager

Hayman

Mr Wayne Milgate, Resort Manager

Mr Roger Wright, General Manager

Miss Erin Dalton, Director of Human Resources

Association of Marine Park Operators Ltd

Mr David Windsor, Executive Director

Mr Craig Davidson, Director

Tourism Whitsundays

Mr Matthew Williams, General Manager

Mr Ian Bone, Project Officer

Site visits

Hamilton Island – staff accommodation

Thursday, 7 December 2006—Canberra

Tourism Transport Forum (TTF) Australia Ltd

Ms Kate Davidson, National Manager, Research

Dr Mark Dimech, National Manager, Aviation and Education

Friday, 9 February 2007—Melbourne

Private capacity

Mrs Lynne Furness

Mrs Rosemary Young

Australian Airports Association Ltd

Mr Ken Keech, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Ski Areas Association

Mr Andrew Ramsey, Executive Director

Ms Elaine Burridge, Human Resources Manager, Mount Hotham Skiing Company Pty Ltd

Mrs Jennifer Eisner, Administration Supervisor, Ski and Snowboard School, Buller Ski Lifts Ltd

Miss Lyn Gibbs, General Manager, Falls Creek Ski Lifts Pty Ltd

Mr Carmine Mancuso, Administration Manager, Buller Ski Lifts Ltd

National Centre for Vocational Education and Research

Dr Tom Karmel, Managing Director

Sustainable Tourism CRC

Prof. Margaret Deery, Principal Research Fellow

Tourism Alliance Victoria

Mr Nicholas Hunt, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Karon Hepner, Group Human Resources Development Manager, Compass Group (Australia)

Mr John Sweetman, Director, Service Skills Australia

Mr Ian Nicolson, Chief Executive Officer, Service Skills Victoria

Miss Lucy Hooper, Project Officer, Service Skills Victoria

Victorian Tourism Industry Council

Ms Bindi Gove, Manager, Tourism Industry Development, Victorian Employers' Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Ms Katherine Salih, Policy Officer

Thursday, 15 February 2007—Canberra

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Ric Wells, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Trade Development Division

Mr Nic Brown, Assistant Secretary, Trade and Economic Analysis Branch, Trade Development Division

Ms Jane Madden, Assistant Secretary, Services and Intellectual Property Branch, Office of Trade and Negotiations

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Ms Jacqueline Daly, Director, Business Employment Section

Mr Peter Job, Director, Working Holiday and Sponsored Training

Thursday, 1 March 2007—Canberra

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Ms Louise McSorley, Assistant Secretary, Industry Strategies Branch

Mr Ivan Neville, Assistant Secretary, Labour Supply and Skills Branch

Ms Colette Shelley, Assistant Secretary, Industries Branch

Mr Michael Manthorpe, Group Manager, Labour Market Strategies Group

Wednesday, 7 March 2007—Darwin

International College of Advanced Education

Mr Bryan Chapman, Marketing Manager

Private capacity

Mr Michael Scott

Tourism Northern Territory

Ms Valerie Smith, Manager Special Projects, Strategic Services and Business Tourism

Site visit

Crocodylus Park, Wildlife Research and Education Centre

Thursday, 8 March 2007 (Roundtable)—Broome

Australia's North West Tourism

Mr Glen Chidlow, Chief Executive Officer

Broome Visitor Centre

Miss Brooke Clapton, Assistant Manager and Staff Supervisor

Cable Beach Club Resort

Mr Ronald Sedon, General Manager

Shire of Broome

Mr Ian Bodill, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Graeme Campbell, Shire President

Tourism Western Australia

Mr Vaughan Davies, Kimberley Regional Manager

Site visit

Willie Creek Pearls – facilities

Friday, 9 March 2007—Swan Valley (Western Australia)

Private capacity

Mr Robert Wesley

Australian Hotels Association, Western Australia

Ms Angela Lynch, Employment Relations Manager

Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia

Ms Marcia Kuhne, Manager, Workplace Relations Policy

Mr Trevor Lovelle, Manager, Industry Policy

City of Mandurah

Mr Scott Mills, Manager, Economic Opportunities

Industry Education Advisory Board

Mr Scott Cogar, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer, Broadwater Hotels and Resorts

Murdoch University

Professor Michael J. Christie, City of Mandurah Chair in Entrepreneurship and Business Innovation

Tour Guides Western Australia Inc.

Mrs Cherie Toovey, President

Ms Ellen Bradley, Secretary

Tourism Western Australia

Ms Kate Lamont, Chairperson

Western Australian Hospitality and Tourism Industry Training Council Inc.

Ms Anthea Kilminster, Executive Officer

Young Australians Tourism Association

Miss Kara Cownie, Treasurer

Thursday, 22 March 2007—Canberra

Department of Education, Science and Training

Mr Matthew Davies, Assistant Secretary, Skills Branch, Industry Skills Development Group

Ms Catherine Wall, Assistant Secretary, Australian Technical Colleges Branch, National Training Directions Group

Ms Mary Johnston, Acting Group Manager, Industry Skills Development Group

Tourism and Hospitality Skills ACT and Region

Mr Stuart Walsh, Chairperson

Mr Joseph Griffiths, Chairperson, Tourism Industry Council ACT and Region Ltd

Thursday, 29 March 2007—Canberra

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Dr Peter Tucker, General Manager, Industry Sustainability Branch, Tourism Division

Mr Peter Van Rens, Manager, Industry Liaison Team, Industry Sustainability Group, Tourism Division

Friday, 30 March 2007—Sydney

South Australian Tourism Commission

Mr Phillip Styles, Consultant

Australian Services Union

Ms Jo Justo, National Industrial Officer

Campervan and Motorhome Club of Australia

Mr William Osborne, General Manager

Mr Bruce Treloar, Director

Mrs Diana Worner, Director

Mr Tony Charters, Consultant

Hostec

Mr Raman Nambiar, Director

Mr Andrew Ugarte, General Manager, Education and Training

Hotel Motel and Accommodation Association

Mr Peter Olah, National Affairs Manager

Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union

Mr Neal Swancott, National Legal Coordinator

Maritime Union of Australia

Mr Rod Pickette, Communications and Research Officer

School of Sport, Tourism and Hospitality Management – La Trobe University

Professor Hans Westerbeek, Head of School

Service Skills Australia

Mrs Susan Briggs, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Specialist

Mr John Sweetman, Chairperson