

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

New Inquiry - Conduct of the 2007 election

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 18 March 2008

Chair: Daryl Melham, MP Deputy Chair: Scott Morrison, MP

Safeguarding electoral integrity — Inquiry into the 2007 federal election

Federal Parliament's Electoral Matters Committee has commenced an inquiry into the conduct of the 2007 federal election.

The 2007 federal election was conducted following a number of recent changes to the electoral system, including:

- earlier closing of electoral rolls
- · requirements for proof of identity when enrolling or re-enrolling
- campaign finance reform
- raising disclosure thresholds for donations to political parties.

"The Committee will be keen to examine the impact of these changes on the integrity of our electoral system," Chair of the Committee Daryl Melham said.

New technologies, demographic changes and shifting public attitudes to the political system provide ongoing opportunities and challenges to ensuring that all citizens can fully participate in the electoral system.

"While all Australian citizens are required to both enrol to vote and vote at elections, it is important that these acts are made as accessible as possible to the entire community," Mr Melham said.

Some of the key facts and figures from the 2007 federal election are:

- more than 13.5 million people were enrolled at the close of the electoral rolls, an increase of 4.8 per cent from the 2004 election
- almost 10.5 million people voted at 7,723 polling places across the country and a further 2.5 million people took the opportunity to cast pre poll, postal or absentee votes
- the cost of running the election was estimated by the Australian Electoral Commission to be almost \$100 million.

Members of the public and interested groups are invited to make submissions in writing to the Committee until Friday, 16 May 2008.

A copy of the full terms of reference for the inquiry is available at the Committee's webpage at http://www.aph.gov.au/em.

For media comment: Please contact the Committee Chair, Daryl Melham MP on (02) 6277 2054 (Parliament House).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2374 or jscem@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 2374
Facsimile: 02 6277 4710
E-mail: jscem@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/em

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600