

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

11 August 2005

Chair: Tony Smith MP Deputy Chair: Michael Danby MP

Inquiry into the conduct of the 2004 election

Public hearing in Sydney

The Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters inquiry into the conduct of the 2004 federal election continues this week with a public hearing in Sydney on Friday, 12 August.

Already the Committee, which comprises members of the Government, Opposition and the Australian Democrats, has held hearings in regional Queensland, Brisbane, Tweed Heads, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth and Canberra.

Details of the Sydney hearing are as follows:

Date:	Friday, 12 August 2005
Time:	9.15am – 4.00pm
Venue:	Committee Room 814/815, New South Wales Parliament House,
	Macquarie Street, Sydney

The Electoral Matters Committee is a Joint Committee of the House of Representatives and the Senate, and comprises Mr Tony Smith (chair), Mr Michael Danby (deputy chair), Senator George Brandis, Senator Kim Carr, Senator Michael Forshaw, Senator Brett Mason, Senator Andrew Murray, Mr Steven Ciobo, Mr Daryl Melham, and Ms Sophie Panopoulos.

Details about the inquiry and the Committee's hearing program are available from the committee's website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/elect04</u>.

Contact details: Committee chairman: Tony Smith - Electorate office (03) 9724 9222 Committee secretary: (02) 6277 4564 Contact number during hearings: 0411 440 490