JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

Report tabling - The 2001 Federal Election

Monday 23 June 2003

Embargoed until 1.05pm, Monday 23 June 2003

Unanimous Report on 2001 Federal Election Recommends Major I.D. Reforms

Federal Parliament's Electoral Matters Committee has released a report containing 34 recommendations to improve the *Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918* and the Australian Electoral Commission's management of federal elections.

The Electoral Matters Committee reviews the conduct of Federal elections. This is the first cross party consensus post election report the Committee has produced in thirteen years.

The Committee received over 200 submissions and held 8 public hearings.

Key issues covered in the Report include the contentious and protracted debate on proof of identity and address requirements.

"The Committee believes that the time has come to achieve a consensual, constructive resolution of this matter," Electoral Matters Committee Chairman Petro Georgiou says in the report. The Report recommended that:

- To strengthen the integrity of the electoral roll, all applicants for enrolment and re-enrolment should provide evidence of their name and address by supplying a photocopy of their driver's licence or other documents accepted by the AEC, or where this is not possible, by written confirmation given by two persons on the electoral roll (Recommendation 1).
- □ People who are not on the roll and claim the right to a provisional vote on election day be required to provide similar proof of address and identity (Recommendation 2).
- □ There be no shortening of the current seven-day "close of rolls" period, which allows people to enrol for the first time or change their enrolment details once an election is called (Recommendation 3).

The Committee considers that, if implemented, these unanimous recommendations will significantly strengthen the integrity and inclusiveness of the electoral roll.

"Confidence in the electoral system should not be undermined because the proof of identity required to enrol vote is less than that required, for example to become a member of a video library."

The Committee's members are Mr Petro Georgiou MP (Chair), Mr Michael Danby MP (Deputy Chair), Senator Andrew Bartlett, Senator George Brandis, MrJohn Forest MP, Senator Brett Mason, Mr Daryl Melham MP, Senator Andrew Murray, Ms Sophie Panopoulos MP and Senator Robert Ray.

For Press comment please contact Electoral Matters Chair, Petro Georgiou, on 02 6277 4419; For further information, Russell Chafer, Committee Secretary on 02 6277 4564. See additional release, "Wide Ranging Recommendations of the Report on the 2001 Election".

Copies of the Report are available near the press boxes [note: Embargoed until 1.05pm], and on the Committee website www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/elect01/index.htm from 1.05pm.

Telephone: 02 6277 4564
Facsimile: 02 6277 4710
E-mail: jscem@aph.gov.au