

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, RESOURCES, FISHERIES AND FORESTRY

Inquiry into Offshore Petroleum Act Bills

Chair: The Hon Dick Adams MP Deputy Chair: Mr Alby Schultz MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4500

Email: arff.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/arff

Facsimile: 02 6277 4516

Issued: 27 May 2011

## Changes to the Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act

## — New Inquiry —

The House of Representatives Agriculture, Resources, Fisheries and Forestry Committee will examine five bills introduced to the House on 25 May 2011 by the Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, relating to the administration of the Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006 and related legislation. The five bills are:

- Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Amendment (National Regulator) Bill
  2011
- Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage (Registration Fees) Amendment Bill 2011
- Offshore Petroleum (Royalty) Amendment Bill 2011
- Offshore Resources Legislation Amendment (Personal Property Securities) Bill 2011
- Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Regulatory Levies Legislation Amendment (2011 Measures No. 2) Bill 2011

The bills seek to streamline Australia's regulatory system in relation to offshore petroleum and greenhouse gas related activities. They establish a single national offshore regulator, the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA); and create a new National Offshore Petroleum Titles Administrator (NOPTA), replacing the system of State based Designated Authorities currently in place. NOPTA and NOPSEMA will operate on a full cost recovery basis.

These changes are designed to reduce the regulatory burden on the industry while ensuring transparency in the costs of industry regulation.

The terms of reference are the text of the bills, which can be accessed, together with the Explanatory Memorandum, on the Committee's website.

Submissions are due by **Friday**, **10 June 2011**, although the Committee would appreciate that submissions be sent as early as possible. The Committee would prefer submissions to be sent electronically to <a href="mailto:arff.reps@aph.gov.au">arff.reps@aph.gov.au</a> Submitters are encouraged to read the information on preparing a submission available on the committee website before lodging their submission.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, the Hon Dick Adams MP, on (02) 6277 4293 or email D.Adams.MP@aph.gov.au

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4500, email <a href="mailto:arff.reps@aph.gov.au">arff.reps@aph.gov.au</a> or visit the Committee's webpage at <a href="mailto:http://www.aph.gov.au/arff">http://www.aph.gov.au/arff</a>