

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Standing Committee on Ageing MEDIA ALERT

Issued: 28 January 2004

Chair: Mr John Cobb MP Deputy: Jill Hall MP

Alice Springs and Darwin hearings for ageing inquiry Monday and Tuesday 2 and 3 February 2004

The House of Representatives Ageing Committee is conducting an inquiry to investigate issues surrounding the expected ageing of the Australian population over the next 40 years.

The inquiry is examining a broad range of issues, including the current and future adequacy of retirement incomes, workforce participation, aged care, education, housing and health. The next public hearings of the inquiry will be held in Alice Springs and Darwin next week. The list of expected witnesses appears below.

To date the committee has received more than 170 submissions and held 13 public hearings for this inquiry. Submissions and background material are available on the inquiry website at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing/strategies/index.htm

For media comment, contact the Committee Chair, John Cobb, on tel: 0428 962 285 (mobile)

For information and/ or copies of submissions, contact the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4145 or visit the inquiry website at www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing

Monday 2 February 2004, Alice Springs, 9am – 2pm Garden Room, Alice Springs Town Council Building, Cnr Todd St & Gregory Tce

9.00 am	Mrs June Noble, Member, Seniors Advisory Council to the Chief Minister, Office of Senior Territorians, Chief Minister's Department
9.35am	Old Timers Nursing Home
10.10am	Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Inc (health & medical group)
10.50am	Mrs Patricia Miller, Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Service
11.25am	Individual
12noon	Tangentyere Council

Community Forum, 12.35pm - 2pm

Tuesday 3 February 2004, Darwin, 9am – 1.10pm Litchfield Room, NT Parliament House, Mitchell St, Darwin

9.00 am	Northern Territory Government, Aged, Disability and Community Care Program, Department of Health and Community Services		
9.40 am	Council on the Ageing (COTA) NT Inc		
10.20 am	NT Carers Association Inc		
11.10am	Frontier Services (Uniting Church)		
11.50am	Dr Mahajani (Community Geriatrician, Aged Care Assessment Team, Department of Health and Community Services) and Dr Michael Lowe (Geriatric Physician, Royal Darwin Hospital)		
12.30pm	Salvation Army Nursing Home and Day Therapy Centre EACH Program		
House Ageing Committee membership			

Chairman Mr John Cobb MP

Members	Ms Ann Corcoran MP Ms Annette Ellis MP Ms Teresa Gambaro MP Ms Jill Hall MP Mr Luke Hartsuyker MP	Mr Greg Hunt MP Mrs Margaret May MP Mr Frank Mossfield MP Mr Tony Smith MP
	WI LUKE HAITSUYKEI WIF	