

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Standing Committee on Ageing MEDIA ALERT

Issued: 17 February 2004

Chair: Mr John Cobb, MP Deputy: Jill Hall, MP

Dubbo and Broken Hill hearings & community forum for ageing inquiry Monday and Tuesday 23 and 24 February 2004

The House of Representatives Ageing Committee is conducting an inquiry to investigate issues surrounding the expected ageing of the Australian population over the next 40 years.

The inquiry is examining a broad range of issues, including the current and future adequacy of retirement incomes, workforce participation, aged care, education, housing and health. The next public hearings will be held in Dubbo and Broken Hill next week. The list of expected witnesses appears below.

The committee has received more than 170 submissions and held 16 public hearings. Submissions and background material are available at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing/strategies/index.htm

For media comment, contact the Committee Chair, John Cobb, on tel: 02 6882 0999 (Dubbo Office) For information and/ or copies of submissions, contact the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4145 or visit the inquiry website at www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ageing

Monday 23 February 2004, Dubbo, 9am – 12noon Auditorium Room, RSL Club, Corner of Brisbane and Wingwerra St, Dubbo

| 9.00 am | Mr John Millar, RSL Aged Care, Dubbo |
|---------|---|
| | Mr Greg Miller, Bracken House, United Protestant Association of NSW Ltd |
| 9.40am | Dr Bob North, Dubbo Rural Clinical School |
| 10.40am | Mr Michael Kennedy, Lourdes Hospital, Catholic Health Care Services |
| 11.20am | Ms Jan Pateman, Director of Ozanam Villa |

NB Specific times can be subject to amendment.

Tuesday 24 February 2004, Broken Hill, 8.30am – 1.00pm Broken Hill Council Chambers, Corner of Sulphide St and Beryl St, Broken Hill

| 8.30 am | Dr Stephen Flecknoe-Brown, Consultant Physician, Chairman of Medical Staff Council and Director of Clinical Training, Broken Hill Base Hospital Dr Ros Menzies, Director, Barrier Division of GPs |
|----------|---|
| 9.10 am | Mr Allan Carter, CEO, Southern Cross Care, Aged Care Accommodation |
| | Ms Dallice Robins, Chairman of Board, Aruma Lodge, Aged Care Accommodation Mr Andrew Colbert, Manager, Shorty O'Neil Village |
| 10.10 am | Ms Donna Millman, Community Programs Manager, Broken Hill City Council Mr Bill Vickers, Vice-President Broken Hill RSL, Pension and Welfare Officer for Veterans' Affairs and Legacy Widows |
| 10.50am | Mr Terry Dwyer, Service Manager, Marri Ma Primary Heath Care Service Mr Rick Doyle, Facilitator, Menindee Health Advisory Council |

NB Specific times can be subject to amendment. **Community Forum**, 11.30am-1.00pm

House Ageing Committee membership

ChairmanMr John Cobb MPMembersMs Ann Corcoran MPMr Greg Hunt MPMs Annette Ellis MPMrs Margaret May MPMs Teresa Gambaro MPMr Frank Mossfield MPMs Jill Hall MPMr Tony Smith MPMr Luke Hartsuyker MPMr