House of Representatives Committees

| Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents

Appendix D – Hearings and Witnesses


Wednesday, 14 September 2011 – Canberra

Walter Burley Griffin Society

Dr Bruce Kent, Committee Member, Canberra Chapter

Professor James Weirick, President

Ms Rosemarie Willett, Committee Member, Canberra Chapter

Lake War Memorials Forum

Dr David Stephens, Media and Political Liaison Officer


Wednesday, 21 September 2011 – Canberra

Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Mr Peter Burnett, First Assistant Secretary, Heritage and Wildlife

ACT Heritage Council

Dr Dianne Firth, Acting Chair



Wednesday, 12 October 2011 – Canberra (via videoconference)

National Capital Planning Commission, Washington DC

Mr Marcel Acosta, Executive Director

Mrs Lucy Kempf, Urban Planner, Policy and Research Division

Ms Christine Saum, Chief Urban Designer, Acting Director, Policy and Research Division


Friday, 14 October 2011 – Canberra

National Capital Authority

Professor Don Aitkin AO, Chairman

Mr Gary Rake, Chief Executive

Mr Andrew Smith, Chief Planner

ACT Government

Mrs Fleur Flanery, Director of City Services - Parks and City Services – Territories and Municipal Services

Returned and Services League

Rear Admiral Ken Doolan AO RAN (Retd), National President

Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government     

Mr Julian Yates, First Assistant Secretary, Territories Division

Australian War Memorial

Major General Stephen Gower AO AO (Mil), Director


Professor Janette Hartz-Karp


Navigation: Previous Page | Contents

Back to top