

Chair – Mr Graham Perrett MP Deputy – Hon Judi Moylan MP

Advisory Report on the National Integrity Commissioner Bill tabled in Parliament

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs was asked to inquire into the National Integrity Commissioner Bill 2012 (the Integrity Bill) and has tabled its report in Parliament today.

The Integrity Bill is a private Member's bill introduced into the House of Representatives on 28 May 2012 by Mr Adam Bandt MP of the Australian Greens. The Integrity Bill proposes the establishment of a National Integrity Commission as an independent statutory federal agency, comprising a new National Integrity Commissioner, a Law Enforcement Integrity Commissioner, and an Independent Parliamentary Advisor.

Due to a number of threshold issues that are addressed in the report, the Committee determined not to conduct an inquiry into the Integrity Bill and did not call for submissions or hold public hearings.

The report addresses issues that are consistent with concerns that were raised by the Senate Scrutiny of Bills Committee, who examined the Integrity Bill. It includes concerns that the powers proposed for the Commissioners may breach personal rights to due justice and procedural fairness, and how the provisions of the Integrity Bill intersect with and potentially duplicate existing legislation and bodies of integrity oversight.

The Chair of the Committee, Mr Graham Perrett MP, said that 'given the scope of the Bill, which will have an impact on both houses, the Committee is of the strong view that any inquiry should be conducted collaboratively with the scrutiny of both houses. Should the House wish a committee to scrutinise the Integrity Bill 2012, the Committee recommends the establishment of a Parliamentary Joint Select Committee to investigate the feasibility and cost of establishing a National Integrity Commission.'

The report is available at <u>www.aph.gov.au/spla</u>. Printed copies will not be available.

For further information please visit the Committee website www.aph.gov.au/spla

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chair, Mr Graham Perrett MP, on (07) 3344 2622 or 0434058200.		
For background information, please contact the Secretariat of the Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs:		
PO Box 6021	Telephone:	02 6277 4969
PARLIAMENT HOUSE	Facsimile:	02 6277 4427
CANBERRA	E-mail:	spla.reps@aph.gov.au
ACT 2600	Website:	www.aph.gov.au/spla