The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

New Main Entrance at the Lucas Heights Science and Technology Centre, Lucas Heights, NSW

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

November 2003 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2003 ISBN [Click **here** and type ISBN Number]

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
List of Abbreviations	vi
Extract from the Votes and Proceedings of the House of Representatives	vii
List of Recommendations	.viii

REPORT

1	Introduction	.1
	Referral of Work	1
	Background	2
	The Lucas Heights Science and Technology Centre	2
	Enhancing Security	2
	Inquiry Process	3
	Inspections and Public Hearing	3
2	The Proposed Works	
	Need	
	Scope	5
	Entry Zone	6
	Decommissioning of Existing Gateway	7
	Gatehouse Zone	7
	Purpose and Suitability	8

	Costs	9
	Value for Money	9
3	Issues and Conclusions	11
	Planning and Design Concepts	11
	Commissioning of the New Main Entrance Facility	12
	Consultation	12
	Traffic Congestion on New Illawarra Road	13
	Improved Security	14
	Environmental Concerns	15
	Costs and Public Accountability	16
	Community Right to Know Charter	16
	Public Gatherings	17
	Quality of Evidence	
	Conclusion	

APPENDICES

Appendix A – List of Submissions	19
Appendix B – List of Witnesses	21
Appendix C – Submission No. 1 from the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation	23
Appendix D – Official Transcript of Evidence	51

Membership of the Committee

Chair	Hon Judi Moylan MP
-------	--------------------

Deputy Chair Mr Brendan O'Connor MP

Members Mr Harry Jenkins MP

Mr Peter Lindsay MP

Mr Jim Lloyd MP

Mr Bernie Ripoll MP

Senator Richard Colbeck Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Michael Forshaw

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Ms Margaret Swieringa
Inquiry Secretary	Ms Vivienne Courto
Research Officer	Ms Sara Edson
Administrative Officer	Mrs Tiana Di Iulio

List of Abbreviations

ACF	Australian Conservation Foundation
ANSTO	Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
APS	Australian Protective Service
ASIO	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
ASNO	Australian Science Non-proliferation Office
CSIRO	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
HIFAR	High Flux Australian Reactor
IAEA	International Atomic Energy Agency
LHSTC	Lucas Heights Science and Technology Centre
NSW	New South Wales
RTA	Road Traffic Authority
RRR	Replacement Research Reactor
UPS	Uninterruptible Power Supply

Extract from the Votes and Proceedings of the House of Representatives

No. 104 dated Tuesday, 24 June 2003

PUBLIC WORKS—PARLIAMENTARY STANDING COMMITTEE— REFERENCE OF WORK— NEW MAIN ENTRANCE AT THE LUCAS HEIGHTS SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY CENTRE, LUCAS HEIGHTS, NSW.

Mr Slipper (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration), pursuant to notice, moved—That, in accordance with the provisions of the *Public Works Committee Act 1969*, the following proposed work be referred to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works for consideration and report: New main entrance at the Lucas Heights Science and Technology Centre, Lucas Heights, NSW.

Question—put and passed.

List of Recommendations

3 Issues and Conclusions

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the proposed new main entrance facility at the Lucas Heights Science and Technology Centre, Lucas Heights, NSW, proceed at the estimated cost of \$10.366 million.