The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Report 7/2008

Update Report: The Christmas Island Immigration Detention Centre Project

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

September 2008 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2008

ISBN 978-0-642-79078-1 (printed version) ISBN 978-0-642-79079-8 (HTML version)

Contents

| Foreword | iv |
|-----------------------------|----|
| Membership of the Committee | V |

THE REPORT

| Christmas Island Immigration Detention Centre Project Update | 1 |
|--|---|
| Introduction | 1 |
| The 2003 proposal | 3 |
| The 2008 PWC briefing | 4 |
| View of the Committee: | 7 |
| | |

APPENDICES

| Appendix A: Department of Finance and Deregulation letter to the Public V Committee | |
|--|--|
| Appendix B: Table of budget increases | |

Foreword

In December 2003 the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works (PWC) of the 40th Parliament tabled its report into the proposed respecified Christmas Island Immigration Reception and Processing Centre. The total estimated cost of the proposal was \$276.2 million, including \$197.7 million from the then Department of Finance and Administration (Finance) to bring the project to completion.

In January 2008 the Committee received a letter from Finance requesting its concurrence for a cost increase for the proposal, renamed the Christmas Island Immigration Detention Centre Project. The cost of the original proposal had grown to \$396 million. Finance briefed the Committee on the cost increase on 26 June 2008. This report provides a background to the project, an outline of the June briefing, and the view of the Committee on the management of the project.

Senator the Hon Judith Troeth Acting Chair September 2008

Membership of the Committee

Committee of the 42nd Parliament

| Chair | Mr Mark Butler MP | |
|--------------|------------------------------------|----------------------|
| Deputy Chair | Senator the Hon Judith Troeth | |
| Members | Mr Nick Champion MP | Senator Mark Bishop |
| | Mr John Forrest MP | Senator John Forshaw |
| | Mr Damian Hale MP (to 28/08/2008) | |
| | Hon Peter Lindsay MP | |
| | Hon Peter Slipper MP | |
| | Hon Roger Price MP (from 28/08/08) | |

Committee Secretariat

Secretary

Inquiry Secretary Research Officers

Administrative Officers

James Catchpole Mark Rodrigues Narelle McGlusky Belynda Zolotto Gaye Milner Tarran Snape