The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

## **Seventy-Fifth Annual Report**

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

March 2012 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-0-642-79635-6 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79636-3 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

## Contents

oreword	V
Iembership of the Committee	vii

#### THE REPORT

1	Annual Report	.1
	Inquiries and reports	. 2
	Medium works	. 3
	Need for a project and options considered	. 3
	Post implementation review	. 4
	Review of the Public Works Committee Act	. 4
	Public Works Committee Act exemptions	. 5
	National Broadband Network	. 5
	Aboriginal Land Trusts	. 6
	Committee comment	. 7
	Conclusion	. 8

#### SUPPLEMENTARY STATEMENT

Supplementary statement by Coalition Members of the Committee ......11

#### APPENDICES

Appendix A – Reports presented and value of works in the year ending 31
December 2011

Appendix B – Works between \$2 million and \$15 million notified to the Committee in the year ending 31 December 2011	15
Appendix C – Committee meetings and hearings in the year ending 31 December 2011	19

iv

### Foreword

I thank all members for their contributions to the work of the Committee. I especially thank Senator Judith Troeth and Mr John Forrest MP, my Deputy Chairs over the past year, for their assistance and guidance. I also thank all staff of the Committee Secretariat.

Ms Janelle Saffin MP Chair

# Membership of the Committee

#### 43<sup>rd</sup> Parliament Membership

Chair	Ms Janelle Saffin MP	
Deputy Chair	Senator the Hon Judith Troeth (until 30/6/11)	Deputy Chair until 30/6/11
	Mr John Forrest MP	Deputy Chair from 7/7/11
Members	Mrs Karen Andrews MP	Senator Gavin Marshall (until 30/6/11)
	Senator Sue Boyce (from 20/9/11)	Mr Bernie Ripoll MP (until 14/3/12)
	Senator Michael Forshaw (until 30/6/11)	Mr Patrick Secker MP (from 10/5/11)
	Senator Alex Gallacher (from 1/7/11)	Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP (until 24/3/11)
	Mr Steve Georganas MP	Senator Anne Urquhart (from 1/7/11)
	Ms Jill Hall MP (from 14/3/12)	

### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Dr Alison Clegg
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Anthony Overs
Senior Research Officers	Mrs Renee Toy Mr Thomas Gregory
Administrative Officer	Mrs Fiona McCann