The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Sixty-sixth Annual Report

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

March 2003 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2003 ISBN [Click **here** and type ISBN Number]

Contents

| Membership of the Th | hirty-fourth Public Works | s Committee 2001-2002 |
|----------------------|---------------------------|-----------------------|
|----------------------|---------------------------|-----------------------|

REPORT

| 1 | Introduction | 1 |
|---|---|------------|
| | Role | 2 |
| | Establishment | 2 |
| | References to the Committee | 3 |
| | The Committee's Operations | 3 |
| | Conduct of Inquiries | 3 |
| | Government Responses | 4 |
| 2 | Year in Review | 5 |
| | Overview of Activities | 5 |
| | Summary of Reports and Government Responses | 6 |
| | Sixty-Fifth General Report | 6 |
| | Common Use Infrastructure on Christmas Island (First Report of 2002) | 6 |
| | Government Response | 8 |
| | RAAF Base Williamtown Redevelopment Stage 1 and Facilities for the Airborne Ear | ly Warning |
| | and Control Aircraft (Second Report of 2002) | 8 |
| | Government Response | 10 |

| | Works Exempted from Committee Scrutiny | 10 |
|---|--|--------|
| | Concurrent Documentation | 11 |
| 3 | Other Activities | 13 |
| | Building and Construction Sector Industry Liaison Visit | 13 |
| | National Conference of Parliamentary Public Works and Environment Commit | tees14 |
| 4 | Issues | 17 |
| | Introduction | 17 |
| | Exemption of Works on the Grounds of Urgency | 17 |
| | Public Works Committee Act 1969 | 18 |
| | Value for Money | 20 |
| | Medium Works | 21 |
| | Definition of a 'Work' | 22 |
| | Support | 23 |

APPENDICES

| Appendix A – List of Inquiries | ries |
|--------------------------------|------|
|--------------------------------|------|

| Appendix B – Committee Meetings and Hearings for the Year ended 31 | |
|--|----|
| December 2002 | 27 |

iv

Membership of the Thirty-fourth Public Works Committee 2001-2002



Hon Judi Moylan MP Chair



Senator Alan Ferguson



Peter Lindsay MP



Brendan O'Connor MP Vice Chair



Senator Michael Forshaw



Jim Lloyd MP



Senator Richard Colbeck



Harry Jenkins MP



Bernie Ripoll MP

Senator Paul Calvert was appointed to the Committee on 14 February 2002 and discharged on 18 August 2002, when he was elected President of the Senate.