The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Report 3/2011

# Referrals made February to March 2011

- Proposed development and construction of housing for the Department of Defence at Muirhead, Darwin, NT
- Proposed Robertson Barracks electrical reticulation system upgrade, Darwin, NT
- Proposed redevelopment of the Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory.
- Larrakeyah housing project budget update

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works

© Commonwealth of Australia 2011 ISBN 978-0-642-79482-6 (Printed version) ISBN 978-0-642-79483-3 (HTML version)

# Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
List of Recommendations	vii

### THE REPORT

1	Introduction	
	Structure of the report	2
2	Proposed development and construction of housing for the Department Defence at Muirhead, Darwin, Northern Territory	
	Conduct of the inquiry	5
	Need for the works	6
	Scope of the works	6
	Cost of the works	6
	Project issues	7
	Block size	
	Block orientation and house layout	8
	Site remediation	8
	Social and cultural planning	9
	Affordable housing	10
	Committee comment	11

Need for the works         Scope of the works         Cost of the works         Project issues         Project partner         Committee comment         4         Proposed redevelopment of t         Canberra, Australian Capital         Conduct of the Inquiry         Need for the works         Scope of the works         Scope of the works         Cost of the works         Cost of the works         Correspondence received in 2011         Budget overrun         Hearings in 2011	
<ul> <li>Scope of the works</li></ul>	
Cost of the works         Project issues         Project partner         Committee comment         4         Proposed redevelopment of the Canberra, Australian Capital         Conduct of the Inquiry         Need for the works         Scope of the works         Cost of the works         Cost of the works         Cost of the works         Correspondence received in 2011         Budget overrun         Hearings in 2011	
<ul> <li>Project issues</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>Project partnerCommittee commentCommittee comment</li> <li>4 Proposed redevelopment of the Canberra, Australian Capital Conduct of the Inquiry</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>Committee comment</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>4 Proposed redevelopment of the Canberra, Australian Capital Conduct of the Inquiry</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>Canberra, Australian Capital</li> <li>Conduct of the Inquiry</li> <li>Need for the works</li> <li>Scope of the works</li> <li>Cost of the works</li> <li>Committee comment</li> <li>5 Larrakeyah housing project k</li> <li>The original inquiry</li> <li>Correspondence received in 2011</li> <li>Budget overrun</li></ul>	
<ul> <li>Need for the works</li> <li>Scope of the works</li> <li>Cost of the works</li> <li>Committee comment</li> <li>Committee comment</li> <li>5 Larrakeyah housing project k</li> <li>The original inquiry</li> <li>Correspondence received in 2011</li> <li>Budget overrun</li> <li>Hearings in 2011</li> </ul>	he Australian Defence Force Academy, Territory17
<ul> <li>Scope of the works</li> <li>Cost of the works</li> <li>Committee comment</li></ul>	
Cost of the works Committee comment	
Committee comment	
<ul> <li>5 Larrakeyah housing project k</li> <li>The original inquiry</li> <li>Correspondence received in 2011</li> <li>Budget overrun</li> <li>Hearings in 2011</li> </ul>	
The original inquiry Correspondence received in 2011 Budget overrun Hearings in 2011	
Correspondence received in 2011 Budget overrun Hearings in 2011	pudget update21
Budget overrun Hearings in 2011	
Hearings in 2011	
Darwin market conditions	
House design	
Committee comment	

Appendix A – List of Submissions	27
Appendix B – List of Inspections, Hearings and Witnesses	29

# Membership of the Committee

Chair Ms	Janelle Saffin MP
----------	-------------------

Deputy Chair Senator the Hon Judith Troeth

Members Mrs Karen Andrews MP

Mr John Forrest MP

Senator Michael Forshaw

Mr Steve Georganas MP

Mr Bernie Ripoll MP Mr Patrick Secker MP (from 10/5/11) The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP

Senator Gavin Marshall

(until 24/3/11)

## **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Dr Alison Clegg
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Anthony Overs
Senior Research Officer	Mr Thomas Gregory
Administrative Officers	Mr Shaun Rowe
	Ms Claire Young

# List of recommendations

### 2 Proposed development and construction of housing for the Department of Defence at Muirhead, Darwin, Northern Territory

### **Recommendation 1**

The Committee recommends Defence Housing Australia engage a social and cultural planner for the entire Muirhead development (including consideration of stage 1), and incorporate the findings and recommendations of that plan into the present proposal (stages 2 – 7).

### **Recommendation 2**

The Committee recommends Defence Housing Australia engage a social and cultural planner for all future developments that involve the development of more than 50 lots, regardless of how many lots Defence Housing Australia will retain.

### **Recommendation 3**

The Committee recommends that the House of Representatives resolve, pursuant to Section 18(7) of the *Public Works Committee Act* 1969, that it is expedient to carry out the following proposed work: development and construction of housing for the Department of Defence at Muirhead, Darwin, NT.

### 3 Proposed Robertson Barracks electrical reticulation system upgrade, Darwin, Northern Territory

### **Recommendation 4**

The Committee recommends that the House of Representatives resolve, pursuant to Section 18(7) of the *Public Works Committee Act 1969*, that it is expedient to carry out the following proposed work: Robertson Barracks electrical reticulation system upgrade, Darwin, NT.

### 4 Proposed redevelopment of the Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory.

### **Recommendation 5**

The Committee recommends that the House of Representatives resolve, pursuant to Section 18(7) of the *Public Works Committee Act* 1969, that it is expedient to carry out the following proposed work: redevelopment of the Australian Defence Force Academy, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory.