A

Appendix A – Conference agenda and participants

Promoting the work of committees

Conference of Committee Chairs, Deputy Chairs and Secretaries

Hosted by the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure

8 pm, Tuesday 6 March 2001 Committee room 2R3

AGENDA

Background

1. Introductory remarks, Mr Gary Nairn MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Procedure

It's your House report, genesis of conference, purpose of conference

Experience so far

2. Strategies for promoting the work of committees, Mr Andres Lomp, Department of the House of Representatives

Advertising, direct mail, media, magazine, seminars

3. Case studies

Mr David Hawker MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Economics, Finance and Public Administration

Hon Lou Lieberman MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Where to from here

4. Comments and ideas from Members

Round table discussion giving participants a chance to relate their experiences and put forward ideas for new approaches

Participants

Procedure Committee members

Mr G R Nairn MP (Chair)

Mr J A Forrest MP

Mrs J Gash MP

Committee Chairs and Deputy Chairs

Mr K J Andrews MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Fran Bailey MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Primary Industries and Regional Services

Ms A E Burke MP, Deputy Chair, Standing Committee on Economics, Finance and Public Administration

Mr R E Charles MP, Chairman, Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

Mr D Cox MP, Vice-Chairman, Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

Mr D P M Hawker MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Economics, Finance and Public Administration

Hon L S Lieberman MP, Chair, Standing Committee on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Mr P E Nugent MP, Chair, Joint Committee on the National Crime Authority

Hon A M Somlyay MP, Chair, Committee of Privileges and Committee of Members' Interests

Other Members

Ms K S Elson MP, Government Whip

Department of the House of Representatives officials

Mr I C Harris, Clerk of the House

Mr D Elder, Clerk Assistant (Committees)

Ms R McClelland, Clerk Assistant (Procedure)

- Ms C Cornish, Secretary, Standing Committees on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs and Legal and Constitutional Affairs
- Mr G Dodd, Assistant Director, Media and Communications, Liaison and Projects Office
- Mr I Dundas, Secretary, Standing Committees on Environment and Heritage and Primary Industries and Regional Services
- Ms B Forbes, Secretary, Standing Committee on Economics, Finance and Public Administration and Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters
- Mr A Lomp, Director, Liaison and Projects Office
- Mr P McMahon, Secretary, Standing Committees on Employment, Education and Workplace Relation and Industry, Science and Resources
- Ms M Swieringa, Secretary, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade