The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

## Annual Report of Committee Activities 2010-2011

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

August 2011 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2011

ISBN 978-0-642-79494-9 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79495-6 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

# Contents

Membership of the Committee	. V
Terms of reference	vii
List of abbreviations	viii

#### THE REPORT

1	The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security	1
	Size and Structure	1
	Functions	2
	Procedures and powers	3
	Reports and Activities 2010-2011	5
	Administration and Expenditure Reviews	5
	Inspections, visits and conferences	6
	Visit to ASIO, ASIS and ONA	6
	Private briefings	6
	Inspector General of Intelligence and Security (IGIS)	6
	Independent Review of the Intelligence Community	6
	Issues arising during the year	7
	Support for the Committee	7

#### APPENDICES

Appendix A – Committee meetings and hearings for the year ending 30 June	
2011	9

## Membership of the Committee

#### 43<sup>rd</sup> Parliament

Chair	The Hon. Anthony Byrne MP	
Deputy Chair	The Hon. Philip Ruddock MP	
Members	Mr Michael Danby MP	Senator Mark Bishop (from 01/07/11)
	Mr John Forrest MP (from 06/07/11)	Senator the Hon. George Brandis SC (from 06/07/11)
	Mr Daryl Melham MP	Senator the Hon. John Faulkner
	Mr Andrew Wilkie MP	Senator the Hon. David Johnston (from 06/07/11)
		Senator the Hon. Ursula Stephens (from 07/07/11)
		Senator Michael Forshaw (until 30/06/11)
		Senator Julian McGauran (until 30/06/11)
		Senator Russell Trood (until 30/06/11)

### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Dr Margot Kerley (until 10/06/11)
A/g Secretary	Dr John Carter (from 10/06/11 to 26/07/11)
Secretary	Mr Jerome Brown (from 26/07/11)
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Robert Little
Senior Research Officer	Dr Cathryn Oliff
Administrative Officer	Ms Gillian Drew

# Terms of reference

This report is made under Part 4 Section 31 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001:

As soon as practicable after each year ending on 30 June, the Committee must give to the Parliament a report on the activities of the Committee during the year.

# List of abbreviations

AIC	Australian Intelligence Community
AO	Order of Australia
ASIO	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
ASIS	Australian Secret Intelligence Agency
CSIS	Canadian Secret Intelligence Service
DIGO	Defence Imagery Geospatial Organisation
DIO	Defence Intelligence Organisation
DSD	Defence Signals Directorate
IGIS	Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
IS Act	Intelligence Services Act 2001
ISC	Intelligence and Security Committee
MP	Member of Parliament
NSA	National Security Agency
OIGIS	Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
ONA	Office of National Assessments
PJCIS	Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security
TSPV	Top Secret Positive Vet