The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

## Annual Report of Committee Activities 2009-2010

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

June 2011 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2011 ISBN 978-0-642-79369-0 (Printed version) ISBN 978-0-642-79370-6 (HTML version)

# Contents

Membership of the Committee	. V
Terms of reference	vii
List of abbreviations	viii

#### THE REPORT

1	The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security	1
	Size and Structure	1
	Functions	2
	Procedures and powers	2
	Reports and Activities 2009-2010	5
	Administration and Expenditure Reviews	5
	Criminal Code Act 1995 – The proscription of terrorist organisations	11
	Inspections, visits and conferences	15
	Visit to Defence Installation at Pine Gap, Northern Territory	15
	The International Intelligence Review Agencies Conference 2010	16
	Visit to the Office of National Assessments	19
	Private briefings	20
	Issues arising during the year	20
	Support for the Committee	21

#### APPENDICES

Appendix A – Committee meetings and hearings for the year ending 30 June 2010	
Appendix B – Committee reports and inquiries	

### **Membership of the Committee**

#### 42<sup>nd</sup> Parliament

- Chair The Hon Arch Bevis MP
- Deputy Chair The Hon Philip Ruddock MP
- MembersMr Mark Dreyfus QC MPSenator Michael ForshawMr Daryl Melham MPSenator Gavin MarshallMrs Kay Hull MPSenator Julian McGauran

43<sup>rd</sup> Parliament

- Chair The Hon Anthony Byrne MP
- Deputy Chair The Hon Philip Ruddock MP
- Members Mr Michael Danby MP Mr Daryl Melham MP Mr Andrew Wilkie MP

Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Michael Forshaw Senator Julian McGauran Senator Russell Trood

Senator Russell Trood

### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Dr Margot Kerley
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Robert Little
Research Officers	Ms Philippa Davies
Administrative Officers	Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz

# Terms of reference

This report is made under Part 4 Section 31 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001:

As soon as practicable after each year ending on 30 June, the Committee must give to the Parliament a report on the activities of the Committee during the year.

# List of abbreviations

AFP	Australian Federal Police
AIC	Australian Intelligence Community
ANAO	Australian National Audit Office
AO	Order of Australia
APM	Australian Police Medal
ASIO	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
ASIS	Australian Secret Intelligence Agency
CIC	Council of Islamic Courts
CNZM	New Zealand Order of Merit
CSIS	Canadian Secret Intelligence Service
CTIVD	Commissie van Toezicht betreffende de Inlichtingen-en VeiligheidsDiensten (Review Committee on Intelligence and Security Services – The Netherlands)
DIGO	Defence Imagery Geospatial Organisation
DIO	Defence Intelligence Organisation
DPS	Department of Parliamentary Services
DSD	

#### IGIS Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

- IS Act Intelligence Services Act 2001
- ISC Intelligence and Security Committee
- LeT Lashkar-e-Tayyiba
- MP Member of Parliament
- NRO National Reconnaissance Office
- NSA National Security Agency
- OIGIS Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
- OM Order of Manitoba
- ONA Office of National Assessments
- PC Member of the Canadian Privy Council
- PIJ Palestinian Islamic Jihad
- PJCIS Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security
- PKK Kurdistan Workers Party
- TSPV Top Secret Positive Vet
- VBIED Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices

<u>x</u>\_\_\_\_\_