The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Annual Report of Committee Activities 2008-2009

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

October 2009 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2009 ISBN 978-0-642-79202-0 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79203-7 (HTML version)

Contents

Men	nbership of the Committee	V
Terr	ns of reference	vii
List	of recommendations	/iii
1	The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security	1
	Size and Structure	1
	Functions	2
	Procedures and powers	3
	Reports and Activities 2008-2009	5
	Criminal Code Act 1995 – The proscription of terrorist organisations	6
	Review of the re-listing of Al-Qa'ida (AQ), Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) and Al-Qa'ida in the Lands of	
	the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM) as terrorist organisations under the Criminal Code Act 1995	6
	Review of the re-listing of Abu Sayyaf Group (ASG), Jamiat ul-Ansar (JuA) and Al-Qa'ida in Ira	pi
	(AQI) as terrorist organisations under the Criminal Code Act 1995	7
	Review of the re-listing of Ansar al-Islam, AAA, IAA, IMU, JeM and LeJ as terrorist	
	organisations under the Criminal Code Act 1995	8
	Review of the re-listing of Hizballah's ESO as a terrorist organisation under the Criminal Code	
	Act 19951	0
	Current reviews1	2
	Inspections and visits	12
	The International Intelligence Review Agencies Conference 2008	2
	ASIO Headquarters Visit	15

AUSTRAC Visit	15
ASIS Visit	15
Private briefings	15
Issues arising during the year	
Attorney General's Department – Community Consultation on listing of te	errorist organisations 16
Parliamentary privilege	16
Report vetting	17
Intercept warrants	
Support for the Committee	
Reply to recommendation from Annual Report 2007-2008	
Appendix A – Committee meetings and hearings for the year e 2009	0
2007	20
Appendix B – Committee reports and inquiries	25

iv

Membership of the Committee

Chair The Hon Arch Bevis MP

Deputy Chair The Hon Philip Ruddock MP

Members	Mr Daryl Melham MP	Senator Michael Forshaw
	Mr Mark Dreyfus QC MP	Senator Gavin Marshall
	Mrs Kay Hull MP (from 3 December 2008)	Senator Julian McGauran
	The Hon Alexander Downer MP (till 14 July 2008)	Senator Russell Trood (from 25 June 2009)
	The Hon Andrew Robb MP (till 3	Senator Fiona Nash (till 6 December 2008)
	December 2008)	Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (from 6/12/08 till 25 June 2009)

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Dr Margot Kerley
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Robert Little
Senior Research Officer	Ms Philippa Davies
Office Manager	Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz

Terms of reference

This report is made under Part 4 Section 31 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001:

As soon as practicable after each year ending on 30 June, the Committee must give to the Parliament a report on the activities of the Committee during the year.

List of recommendations

1 The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that procedures be put in place to allow for the Committee's Administration and Expenditure reports to be vetted within one month of their presentation to the relevant Minister.