The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

### Annual Report of Committee Activities 2005-2006

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

September 2006 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2006 ISBN 0 642 78820 0 (Printed Version) ISBN 0 642 78821 9 (HTML Version)

# Contents

Me	mbership of the Committee	V
Ter	ms of reference	/i
1	The Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security	1
	Size and structure	1
	Functions	2
	Procedures and powers	3
	Changes to the Intelligence Services Act	5
2	Reports and Activities 2005-2006	7
	Reports	7
	Criminal Code Act 1995 – The proscription of terrorist organisations	7
	Review of the listing of Tanzim Qa'idat al-Jihad al-Rafidayn (the al- Zarqawi Network)	3
	Review of the listing of seven terrorist organisations	9
	Review of the listing of four terrorist organisations	9
	Review of the listing of the Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK)10	)
	Review of the Intelligence Services Legislation Amendment Bill 20051	2
	ASIO's Questioning and Detention Powers1	4
	Notifications under s6A of the Intelligence Services Act 2001	6
	Inspections and briefings1	7

	Visit to Intelligence Services Facilities	17
	Private Briefings	17
	Conferences	
3	Issues of Procedure and Practice	19
	Secrecy provisions and the ASIO Act	19
	Handling and retention of documents	21
	The taking of evidence and report clearance	23
	Support for the Committee	
A	Appendix A: Committee meetings and hearings for the year ending 30 June 200627	
В	Appendix B: Committee reports and inquiries	29
	Reports tabled:	
	Current inquiries:	30

#### **Membership of the Committee**

Deputy Chair Mr Anthony Byrne MP

Members Mr Stewart McArthur

The Hon Duncan Kerr SC, MP Mr Steven Ciobo MP (from 8 December 2005) Senator Alan Ferguson

Senator the Hon Robert Ray Senator the Hon John Faulkner (from 9 December 2005) Senator Fiona Nash (from 9 May 2006) Senator the Hon Sandy Macdonald (until 6 July 2005) Senator Julian McGauran (from 8 September 2005 to 28 March 2006)

#### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Ms Margaret Swieringa	
Inquiry Secretary	Ms Jane Hearn	
Research Officer	Dr Cathryn Ollif	
Executive Assistant	Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz	

## Terms of reference

This report is made under the Part 4 section 31 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001:

As soon as practicable after each year ending on 30 June, the Committee must give to the Parliament a report on the activities of the Committee during the year.