The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Review of Administration and Expenditure: No.10 – Australian Intelligence Agencies

Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

March 2013 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2013 ISBN 978-0-642-79838-1 (Printed version) ISBN 978-0-642-79839-8 (HTML version)

Contents

Me	mbership of the Committee	v
Ter	rms of reference	vii
Lis	t of abbreviations	viii
1	Introduction	1
2	Administration	3
	Organisation of agency structure	3
	Impact on agencies of recent legislative changes	5
	Telecommunications Interception and Intelligence Services Legislation Amendment Act	
	Intelligence Services Legislation Amendment Act 2011	6
	Litigation	7
	Human resource management within the agencies	8
	Management of growth	8
	Recruitment	8
	Workplace Diversity	10
	Gender	
	Training and Development	11
	Linguistic Skills	12
	Separation rates and retention strategies	13
	Security issues	14
	Security clearances	14
	Visa security assessments	14
	ASIO Personnel security assessments	16

	Breaches of security	
		1
	Staff surveys	1
	Accommodation	1
	ASIO's new central office	
	Other agencies	
	Performance management and evaluation	
	Organisational performance management	2
	Individual performance management	
l	Issues raised by the IGIS	
,	Visa security assessments	
	DSD testing inquiry	
	Conclusion	
3	Expenditure	2
	The efficiency dividend	2
	Other impacts on agency budgets	2
:	Submission from the ANAO	
	Budget Growth	
	Agencies other than ASIO	
	ASIO	
	Recruitment costs	3
	Training costs	
,	Financial governance systems	
	Fraud control and risk management	

iv

Membership of the Committee

Chair	The Hon Anthony Byrne MP	
Deputy Chair	The Hon Philip Ruddock MP	
Members	Mr Michael Danby MP (to 02/04/13) Mr John Forrest MP (from 06/07/11) Mr Daryl Melham MP (to 14/03/12) The Hon Kevin Rudd MP (from 14/03/12) Mr Andrew Wilkie MP	Senator Mark Bishop (from 01/07/11) Senator the Hon George Brandis SC (from 06/07/11) Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Michael Forshaw (until 30/06/11) Senator the Hon David Johnston (from 06/07/11) Senator Julian McGauran (until 30/06/11) Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens (from 06/07/11)

Senator Russell Trood (until 30/06/11)

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Mr Jerome Brown
Inquiry Secretary	Mr Robert Little
Research Officer	Dr Cathryn Ollif
Administrative Officers	Ms Lauren McDougall

Terms of reference

This review is conducted under paragraph 29(1)(a) of the *Intelligence Services Act* 2001:

 to review the administration and expenditure of ASIO, ASIS, DIGO, DIO, DSD and ONA, including the annual financial statements (of) ASIO, ASIS, DIGO, DIO, DSD and ONA.

List of abbreviations

AAT	Administrative Appeals Tribunal
AFP	Australian Federal Police
AIC	Australian Intelligence Community
ANAO	Australian National Audit Office
APS	Australian Public Service
ASIO	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
ASIO Act	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation Act 1979
ASIS	Australian Secret Intelligence Service
ASRC	Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
CSOC	Cyber Security Operations Centre
DFAT	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
DIAC	Department of Immigration and Citizenship
DIGO	Defence Imagery and Geospatial Organisation
DIO	Defence Intelligence Organisation
DSA	Defence Security Authority
DSD	Defence Signals Directorate
Finance	Department of Finance and Deregulation

FMA Act	Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997
---------	--

- IGIS Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
- IMA Irregular Maritime Arrivals
- ISA Intelligence Services Act 2001
- ISPT Industry Superannuation Property Trust
- MAL Movement Alert List
- NIC National Intelligence Community
- NICC National Intelligence Coordination Committee
- NICMC National Intelligence Collection Management Committee
- NIOSC National Intelligence Open Source Committee
- NiTAC National Interception Technical Assistance Centre
- NTAC National Threat Assessment Centre
- ONA Office of National Assessments
- PDF ONA's Performance Development Framework
- PJCIS Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security
- PM&C Prime Minister and Cabinet
- RCOA Refugee Council of Australia
- R.I.S.E. Refugees Survivors & Ex-Detainees
- SES Senior Executive Service
- TIA Act Telecommunications (Interception and Access) Act 1979
- TSPV Top Secret Positive Vetting
- UNHCR United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees