D

Appendix D – Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Canberra Tuesday, 30 April 2002

Individuals

Mr George Brownbill

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary Mr John Atwood, Acting Assistant Secretary, Public International Law Mr Karl Alderson, Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Branch Ms Susan McIntosh, Principal Legal Officer, Law and Justice Branch

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser

Law Council of Australia

Mr Anthony Abbott, President

Mr Michael Rozenes, Joint Chairman, Criminal Law Committee Ms Christine Harvey, Deputy Secretary-General

Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr William Blick, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Sydney Wednesday, 1 May 2002

Individuals

Dr Richard Bibby Professor George Williams

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Ms Kay Ransome

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary

Australian Section International Commission of Jurists

Mr Steve Mark, Chairman

Mr Rodney Lewis, Council Member

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser

New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties

Mr Cameron Murphy, President

Mr David Bernie, Vice-President

Social Education and Research Concerning Humanity (SEARCH) Foundation

Mr Richard Walsham, President Mr Michael Tubbs, Member

Supreme Islamic Council of New South Wales

Mr Gabr Elgafi, Chairman Mr Bibal Elmowy, Youth Councillor Mr David Goddard, Public Relations Officer

University of Tasmania

Dr Greg Carne, Lecturer, Faculty of Law

Melbourne Thursday, 2 May 2002

Individuals

Mr Joo-Cheong Tham

Amnesty International

Ms Claire Mahon, Member, Amnesty International Australia National Legal Group

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary

Mr John Atwood, Acting Assistant Secretary, Public International Law Branch

Mr Karl Alderson, Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Branch

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Sharan Burrow, President

Ms Catherine Bowtell, Industrial Officer

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Professor David Kinley, Director Ms Sarah Joseph, Associate Director

Islamic Council of Victoria

Mr Bilal Cleland, Secretary

Federation of Community Legal Centres (Vic) Inc

Mr Damien Lawson, Spokesperson Ms Sally Anne Smith, Policy Worker

Law Institute of Victoria

Mr David Faram, President Mr Erskine Rodan, Member of Council of Law Institute Ms Yvette Nash, Chair, Young Lawyers Law Reform Committee

Victorian Council of Social Service

Mrs Dimity Fifer, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Annie Pettitt, Policy Analyst