The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Annual Report of Committee Activities 2002-2003

Parliamentary Joint Committee on ASIO, ASIS and DSD

June 2004 Canberra

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004

Contents

Membership of the Committee	. V
Terms of reference	vii

REPORT

1	Annual Report of the Joint Parliamentary Committee on ASIO, ASIS and DSD	
	Background	1
	Activities	2
	Conclusion	4

Membership of the Committee

Chair	Hon David Jull MP

Members	Hon Kim Beazley MP	Senator Paul Calvert (discharged on 29.08.02)
	Mr Stewart McArthur MP	Senator Alan Ferguson (appointed on 29.08.02)
	Hon Leo McLeay MP	Senator Sandy Macdonald
		Senator the Hon Robert Ray

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Ms Margaret Swieringa
Research Officer	Mr Jon Merrill, Research Officer, to July 2003
	Ms Sonya Fladun, Research Officer, from December 2003
Secondees	Mr Charles Vagi, CSC and Bar, secondment from the Department of Defence, August – December 2003
	Mr Greg Ralph, secondment from the Department of Foreign Affairs, November 2003
Executive Assistant	Ms Tiana Di Iulio
	Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz

Terms of reference

This report is made under the Part 4 section 31 of the Intelligence Services Act 2001:

As soon as practicable after each year ending on 30 June, the Committee must give to the Parliament a report on the activities of the Committee during the year.