

HON WILSON TUCKEY MP MEMBER FOR O'CONNOR

23 June 2008

## SUBMISSION

Julia Irwin MP Chair of the Standing Committee on Petitions Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

I strongly oppose the concept of electronic petitions on the grounds it will greatly devalue their importance, not withstanding their true worth.

Personally signed petitions require a genuine effort from the organisers in both preparation and the collection of signatures, which should include the printed name and address of those who sign to provide relevance.

We all now experience email organised by interest groups, which persons can forward at the pressing of a button.

I recently received a series on energy savings in which each sender claimed to have implemented a list of identical savings measures, the nature of which were impossible to duplicate from household to household.

Should members be prepared to tolerate such a process I certainly will not be prepared to deliver them to the clerk's office in a manual or electronic form, as whilst the current arrangements frequently are suspect, an electronic system would be so abused as to give no credibility to any petition received thereafter.

Submission 1

GREAT SOUTHERN (Albany) Unit 5 The Link Centre St Emile Way, Albany, W.A. (P.O. Box 5077 Albany W.A. 6332) Tel: (08) 9842 6228 Fax: (08) 9842 6006 Toll Free: 1300 301 868

MID-WEST (Geraldton) 23 Chapman Road Geraldton W.A. (P.O. Box 1781 Geraldton, W.A. 6531) Tel: (08) 9964 2195 Fax: (08) 9921 7990

Toll Free: 1300 301 871

CANBERRA OFFICE Suite R117 Parliament House Canberra, A.C.T. 2600 (P.O. Box 6022 Canberra, A.C.T. 2600) Tel: (02) 6277 4660 Fax: (02) 6277 8589

THE ELECTORATE OF O'CONNOR COVERS THE FOLLOWING 50 LOCAL GOVERNMENTS

Albany, Boyup Brook, Broomehill, Bruce Rock, Carnamah, Coorow, Corrigin, Cranbrook. Cunderdin, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Denmark, Dowerin, Dumbleyung, Geraldton, Gnowangerup, Goomalling, Greenough, Irwin, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kent, Kojonup, Kondinin, Koorda, Kulin, Lake Grace, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mt Marshall, Mukinbudin, Narembeen, Nungarin, Perenjori, Plantagenet, Quairading, Ravensthorpe, Tambellup, Tammin, Three Springs, Trayning, Victoria Plains, Wagin, West Arthur, Wickepin, Wongan-Ballidu, Woodanilling,Wyalkatchem

Hon Wilson Tuckey