D

Appendix D - Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Norfolk Island, Tuesday, 15 July 2003

Private Capacity

Mr Geoff Bennett

Mr John Brown MLA¹

The Hon. Ivens Buffett MLA

The Hon. Adrian Cook QC

Mr Bruce Griffiths

Mr Michael King

Mr Ron Nobbs MLA

Mr Bill Sanders

Mr George Smith MLA

¹ Mr John Brown MLA appeared in both a private capacity and as Chairman of the Norfolk Island Legislative Assembly Select Committee into Electoral and Governance Issues.

Norfolk Island, Wednesday, 16 July 2003

Private Capacity

Miss Alice Buffett

Canberra, Friday, 25 July 2003

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Ronald Brent, Deputy Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Commonwealth Department of Transport and Regional Services

Ms Margaret Backhouse, Director, Self-Governing Territories, Territories and Local Government

Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Assistant Secretary, Self-Governing Territories, Local Government and Natural Disaster Management.

Mr John Doherty, First Assistant Secretary, Territories and Local Government.

Private Capacity

The Hon. Robert Ellicott QC

Norfolk Island Government

The Hon. David Buffett MLA, Minister and Speaker

The Hon. Geoff Gardner MLA, Chief Minister and Minister for Intergovernment Relations

Mr Don Wright, Adviser to Norfolk Island Government

Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department

Ms Katherine Jones, Acting Assistant Secretary, Administrative Law and Civil Procedure Branch

Mr Colin Minihan, Acting Assistant Secretary, Information Law Branch