

Australian Government

National Capital Authority

File No: 07/642 Ref: 83370

Senator Louise Pratt Chair Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories PO Box 6021 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Dear Senator Pratt

I refer to the public meeting conducted by the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories (the Committee) on 17 November 2010 where the National Capital Authority undertook to provide the Committee with additional information in response to the following questions put by Senator Humphries and Senator Fielding.

Q1. In relation to the intergovernmental committee on parking, Senator Humphries asked to receive details about the meetings that were held, who attended each of those meetings and the role in which they attended.

A1. A chronology of the meetings held, and attendees at those meetings, is provided at Attachment A.

Q2. In relation to car park provisions for new buildings, Senator Fielding asked to receive details of how many car parks were provided in each of the new buildings over the last two to three years, within the precinct, along with approximate staff numbers in the buildings.

A2. A table providing details of car parking and staffing in recently approved buildings is provided at Attachment B.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on 6271 2814 if the Committee requires any further information.

ours sincerely

Gary Rake Chief Executive

November 2010

Building the National Capital in the hearts of all Australians

T 02 6271 2888 | F 02 6273 4427 | www.nationalcapital.gov.au | email natcap@natcap.gov.au Couriers & deliveries: Treasury Building, King Edward Terrace, Parkes ACT 2600 | Mailing: GPO Box 373 Canberra ACT 2601 ABN 75 149 374 427

Inter-Governmental Committee on Parking – Chronology of Committee Meetings

29 September 2009 Australian Government Committee representatives

Andrew Smith – Chair Andrew Baird – Department of Finance and Deregulation Mark Painting – Department of Defence Dennis McGee – former Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts (currently Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities)

26 October 2009

Andrew Smith – Chair Rebecca Sorensen –National Capital Authority Karen Stewart – Attorney-General's Department Alison Green – Attorney-General's Department Andy Wilson – ACT Chief Minister's Department Kelvin Walsh – ACT Planning and Land Authority Karen Greenland – ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services

14 January 2010

Andrew Smith- Chair Rebecca Sorensen – National Capital Authority Andrew Baird – Department of Finance and Deregulation Karen Stewart – Attorney-General's Department Mark Painting – Department of Defence Karen Greenland – ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services Paul Isaks - ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services Gary Byles - ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services Andy Wilson – ACT Chief Minister's Department Malcolm Mearns – consultant, Datacol Research Pty Ld

11 May 2010

Andrew Smith – Chair Rebecca Sorensen – National Capital Authority Andrew Baird – Department of Finance and Deregulation Alison Green – Attorney-General's Department Caroline Reynolds – Attorney-General's Department Alex Anderson – Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet Mark Painting – Department of Defence Dennis McGee – former Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts (currently Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities) Andy Wilson – ACT Department of Land and Property Services Garrick Calnan – ACT Planning and Land Authority Karen Greenland – ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services

8 October 2010

Andrew Smith – Chair Rebecca Sorensen – National Capital Authority Melanie Skinner – National Capital Authority Andy Wilson – ACT Department of Land and Property Services Mark Painting – Department of Defence Andrew Baird – Department of Finance and Deregulation Garrick Calnan – ACT Planning and Land Authority Paul Isaks – ACT Department of Territory and Municipal Services

Location	Development	Date of Approval	Gross Floor Area (office only)	Car parks Approved*	Ratio of car parks to 100m2	Max. no. of employees per building (DoFD. Occupational Density Target –
		Divisio	Division of Campbell	mpbell		16m2)
65 Constitution Avenue Block 33 Section 19	National Associations Centre	19.04.2010	9947	195	1.96	621
81 Constitution Avenue Block 28 Section 19	RSL HQ	13.11.2008	23408	447	1.91	1463
		Divis	Division of City	City		
Edinburgh Avenue Blocks 5 & 6 Section 24	Nishi	24.05.2010	21000	200	0.95	1313
Vernon Circle Section 63	City West Holdings	12.08.2010	121175	1511	1.25	7573
		Divisi	Division of Barton	arton		
2-4 National Circuit Block 1 Section 24	2-4 National Circuit	13.06.2010	28587	681	2.40	1787
6 National Circuit Block 1 Section 8	Masonic Lodge	24.06.2008	6300	120	1.90	393

- final car park figures can be reduced by 5% if developments provide adequate bicycle and motorbike parking Notes: * excludes spaces for motorbikes, bicycles
- minor variations in the car park ratios are permitted under the National Capital Plan depending on the merits of each individual development.