

Joint Standing Committee on Migration

Chair Mrs Chris Gallus MP

Deputy Chair Senator Jim McKiernan

Members

Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Alan Eggleston Senator John Tierney Hon Dick Adams MP Hon Bruce Baird MP Mrs Julia Irwin MP Mrs Margaret May MP Mr Bernie Ripoll MP

Correspondence and inquiries to:

The Committee Secretary Joint Standing Committee on Migration Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

> **Tel:** 02 6277 4560 **Fax:** 02 6277 8506

Email:JSCM@aph.gov.au

Internet: www.aph.gov.au/house/ committee/mig/index.htm

Media Release

RESTRICTION ON CLASS ACTIONS NEEDED

The opportunity to use class actions as a back door way for non-residents to remain in Australia should be removed, the Joint Standing Committee on Migration recommended in its report tabled in Parliament today.

The Committee noted that in a period of 10 years, some 4,458 non-residents had used class actions to extend their stay in Australia

Not one had been able to remain permanently as a direct result of their class actions. Yet they had all been able to extend their stay in Australia for an average of 18 months beyond the Departmental decision that they should leave.

Because of the number of non-residents using the judicial review process to remain in Australia, the Committee also recommended that the Bill restrict access to judicial review by ensuring that only those non-residents who may directly benefit from the outcome can pursue an action in the Federal Court.

The Committee also recommended that a time limit of 35 days be imposed on non-residents wishing to apply to the High Court following rejection of their cases by tribunals.

The Committee recommended that the *Migration Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 2) 2000* be proceeded with.

For further information/comment please ring Chris Gallus on 02 6277 4840 or 0417 849 804