APPENDIX TWO

LIST OF WITNESSES AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Tuesday 12 August 1997 - Sydney

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Dr Duncan Chappell, Deputy President Mr Graham McDonald, Deputy President Ms Kay Ransome, Acting Registrar

Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Chris Sidoti, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Kieren Fitzpatrick, Senior Adviser

Law Society of New South Wales

Mr Ronald Kessels, Member, Migration Task Force

New South Wales Department of Corrective Services

Ms Margaret Anderson, Executive Officer, Serious Offenders Review Council Mr Neil Guy, Manager, Sentence Administration Unit Mr Paul Nash, Director, Legal Services

Individuals

Dr Richard Crane Mr Bruce Haddon

Wednesday, 13 August 1997 - Canberra

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Andrew Herington, Senior Assistant Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Philippa Smith, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Monday, 15 September 1997 - Melbourne

Administrative Review Council

Professor Marcia Neave, President

Jesuit Social Services and Jesuit Refugee Service

Ms Eve Lester, Research & Policy Officer Father Peter Norden, Director

Individuals

Mr Michael Clothier Dr Kathryn Cronin Mr Max Howlett Mr Stanley Johnston

Monday, 29 September 1997 - Canberra

Australia Israel and Jewish Affairs Council

Dr Colin Rubenstein, National Policy Chairman

Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade

Mr Peter Heyward, Director, Refugees, Immigration and Asylum Section Mr Denis O'Dea, Immigration Liaison Officer Ms Jane Spry, Immigration Liaison Officer

Executive Council of Australian Jewry

Mr Jeremy Jones, Executive Vice President

Returned Services League of Australia

Mr Albert Owens, Member, National Youth Heritage and Citizenship Mr John Sheldrick, Chairman, National Youth Heritage and Citizenship

FRIDAY, 17 OCTOBER 1997 - CANBERRA

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Peter Job, Director of Compliance Mr John Parker, Acting Assistant Secretary, Legal Services and Litigation Mr Mark Sullivan, Deputy Secretary Mr Peter Vardos, Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Enforcement Branch

MONDAY, 1 DECEMBER 1997 - CANBERRA

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Dr Duncan Chappell, Deputy President Mr Graham McDonald, President Member Ms Kay Ransome, Registrar