

Issued: 12 September 2011

Joint Standing Committee on Migration

Chair: Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy Chair: Mrs Louise Markus MP

Multiculturalism Australia many stories, one future

The history of Australia is a history of migration. The nation's foundation story is one of colonisation by the British but its cultural narrative is an accretion of arrival stories told by those observing from the shore, and by new arrivals hoping for a new beginning.

On Wednesday 14 September 2011, Parliament's Joint Committee on Migration will hear from Dr James Jupp AM, Director of the Centre for Immigration and Multicultural Studies at the Australian National University.

Dr Jupp is one of the most eminent experts on migration history and multiculturalism in Australia. He is well known for his work on the Bicentennial encyclopaedia *The Australian People* (1988), and has published widely on Australia's cultural diversity.

Dr Jupp has also been active in the formulation of policy advice for over three decades, including as a member of the first Advisory Council on Multicultural Affairs, set up by the Hawke Government to develop the National Agenda for Multiculturalism (1989).

The Chair Maria Vamvakinou welcomed Dr Jupp's participation in the Committee's inquiry into multiculturalism: "Dr Jupp brings a deep appreciation of Australia's rich history of cultural diversity and an intimate knowledge of past policy priorities. The Committee welcomes his insights into the opportunities and challenges posed by changing migration trends."

Dr Jupp's most recent book, *Multiculturalism and Integration – a Harmonious Relationship* (June 2011) was co-authored with Professor Michael Clyne.

The Committee's public hearing will commence at **10.45 am in Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House**, **Canberra.**

Proceedings will be audio broadcast on http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Further information about the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website www.aph.gov.au/mig or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4560.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Media comment: Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou, Parliament House ext. 4249, Electoral Office (03) 9309 3655 or 0417 541 465 (Basem Abdo)