

Parliament of Australia Joint Standing Committee on Migration MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 19 April 2005

Chairman: Don Randall MP

## **Committee to Inspect Baxter Detention Centre**

Federal Parliament's Migration Committee will today conduct an inspection of the Baxter Immigration Detention Facility (IDF) as part of the Committee's continued interest in Australia's immigration detention facilities and practices. The Committee will also inspect the Port Augusta Residential Housing Project.

In addition to receiving briefings from the Department of Immigration and Global Solutions Limited, the Committee will meet with a number of detainees.

Chair of the Migration Committee, Mr Don Randall MP, said "the Committee's inspection will enable Members to more closely examine the operational arrangements currently in place at Australia's detention facilities, including the range of social and health services available to detainees."

"The Committee is also keen to learn more about the experiences of detainees, particularly at the Baxter detention centre when it meets with a group of detainees this afternoon," he said.

## For background information:

For further information about the Committee's inspection please contact the Committee Secretary on 02 6277 4560.

## **Media Comment:**

For interview, please contact the Office of the Committee Chair, Mr Don Randall MP on 08 9390 1211.

## **Committee Membership:**

Mr Don Randall, MP (Chair) Ms Julia Irwin, MP (Deputy Chair) Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Linda Kirk Senator Tsebin Tchen Mr Laurie Ferguson, MP Mr Michael Keenan, MP The Hon Dr Carmen Lawrence, MP Dr Andrew Southcott, MP