# D

# Appendix D: Northern Territory Statehood seminar programme<sup>1</sup>

### Venues:

Alice Springs - 14 November 2006

Ellery Room Alice Springs Convention Centre

Darwin - 15-16 November 2006

Strangers Lounge Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory

### Darwin format:

Each 90 minute session in Darwin to consist of:	
Principal speakers	10 minutes per speaker
Questions from Committee members to the	20-30 minutes
principal speakers	
Comments from additional invited guests and	20-30 minutes
public	
Plus additional open discussion session at	30-45 minutes
conclusion of each day	

1 This version of the programme reflects the structure of the seminar and those who attended, but not the order of speakers.

10:25am Welcome	The Hon Peter Slipper MP
10:30am	Future status of Commonwealth land in the Northern
	Territory and Aboriginal land rights
(10:30am – 11:10am )	<ul> <li>The Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Member for Lingiari)</li> <li>Mr Bernie Kilgariff (former NT Senator)</li> <li>Mr John Liddle (Male Health Coordinator, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress) with <ul> <li>Dr Martin Mowbray (Congress Research and Policy Officer)</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
(11:10am – 11:30am)	(Questions from the Committee)
(11:30am – 12:00pm)	<ul><li>Group discussion</li><li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li><li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li></ul>

# Tuesday 14 November 2006 - Alice Springs

ınch

1:00pm	Session resumption
(1:00pm – 1:40pm)	<ul> <li>Ms Shirley McPherson (Chairperson, Indigenous Land Corporation) with <ul> <li>Mr Paul Hayes (ILC Principal Legal Officer)</li> </ul> </li> <li>Ms Jayne Weepers (Policy Officer, Central Land Council)</li> </ul>
(1:40 – 2:00pm)	(Questions from the Committee)
(2:00pm – 2:25pm)	<ul> <li>Group discussion</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

#### 2:25pm Open Public Discussion

2:45pm Conclusion of Alice Springs session

# Wednesday 15 November 2006 - Darwin

8:30am	Registration
	0

<b>9:00am Session One</b> <i>Principal Speakers</i>	<ul> <li>Seminar Opening and Welcome</li> <li>The Hon Peter Slipper MP - Welcome</li> <li>The Hon Syd Stirling MLA (Minister for Statehood, NT</li> </ul>
	Government)

9:30am Session Two	Recent Northern Territory Developments on statehood and proposals to advance statehood
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>Ms Barbara McCarthy MLA (Chair NT Statehood Steering Committee)</li> <li>Mrs Sue Bradley (Co-chair NT Statehood Steering Committee)</li> <li>The Hon Stephen Hatton (Former Chief Minister, NT)</li> <li>Mr Jamey Robertson (Secretary, Unions NT)</li> <li>Senator Trish Crossin (NT Senator)</li> </ul>
<i>Other session</i> <i>participants</i>	<ul> <li>Representative of the NT Local Government Association</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

# 11:15am Morning Break

11:30am Session	Commonwealth constitutional matters and achieving
Three	statehood
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>The Hon Dean Mildren (Justice of the NT Supreme Court)</li> <li>Mr Graham Nicholson (Legal adviser to NT Statehood Steering Committee)</li> <li>Mr Tom Pauling QC (NT Solicitor-General)</li> </ul>
Other session participants	<ul> <li>Representative of the Constitutional Policy Unit, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department</li> <li>Representative of the NT Department of Justice</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

1:00pm Lunch

2:15pm Session Four	Representation of the new state in the Federal Parliament and future status of Commonwealth legislation currently applying to the Northern Territory
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>Mr David Tollner MP (Member for Solomon)</li> <li>The Hon Austin Asche AC QC (Chair, NT Law Reform Committee</li> </ul>
Other session participants	<ul> <li>Representative of the Australian Electoral Commission</li> <li>Representative of the NT Electoral Commission</li> <li>Representative of the NT Department of Justice</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

# 3:30pm Afternoon break

4:00pm Session Five	<b>Open Public Discussion</b>	

4: 45pm Conclusion of Day One of Darwin sessions

# Thursday 16 November 2006 - Darwin

9:00am Session One	Future control of industrial relations and financial
	relations between a new state and the Commonwealth
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>Financial Relations:</li> <li>Mr Alan Morris (Chairperson, Commonwealth Grants Commission)</li> <li>Ms Jennifer Prince (Under Treasurer, NT Department of Treasury)</li> <li>Industrial Relations:</li> <li>Mr Justin Larkin (Employment Advocate of the Office of Commissioner for Public Employment)</li> <li>Mr Chris Young (CEO, Chamber of Commerce NT)</li> <li>Mr Joe Gallagher (President, Unions NT)</li> </ul>
Other session participants	<ul> <li>Representative of the Commonwealth Department of Employment and Workplace Relations</li> <li>Representative of the NT Trades and Labour Council</li> <li>Representative of NT Department of Business, Economic and Regional Development</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

#### 10:45am Morning break

11:00am Session	Future Status of Commonwealth Land in the Northern
Тwo	Territory and Aboriginal land rights
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>Mr Kelvin Costello (Coordinator, Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation)</li> <li>Mr John Daly (Chairman, Northern Land Council)</li> <li>Mr Dennis Bree (Deputy Chief Executive, NT Office of Indigenous Policy)</li> <li>Mr Joe Procter (Managing Director, Indigenous Energy Pty Ltd)</li> </ul>
Other session participants	<ul> <li>Representative of the National Native Title Tribunal</li> <li>Representative of the NT Local Government Association</li> <li>Representative of the NT Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

1:30pm Session	Mineral and uranium resource issues, and future
Three	ownership and management of Commonwealth National
Principal Speakers	<ul> <li>Parks and Marine Protected Areas</li> <li>Ms Kezia Purick (Chief Executive, NT Minerals Council)</li> <li>Mr Graeme Neate (President, National Native Title Tribunal)</li> </ul>
Other session participants	<ul> <li>Representative of the Northern Land Council</li> <li>Representatives of the NT Department of Natural Resources, Environment and the Arts</li> <li>Representatives of the NT Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines</li> <li>Representative of the Environment Centre of the NT</li> <li>Members of the NT Statehood Steering Committee</li> <li>Members of the NT Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee</li> </ul>

# 3:00pm Afternoon Break

3:30pm Session Four Open Public Discussion
4:15pm Concluding The Hon Peter Slipper MP
Remarks

4:30pm Seminar Close