## Β

## **Appendix B: List of Witnesses**

Tuesday 14 November 2006 – Alice Springs

Mrs Loraine Braham MLA, Member for Braitling, and Member, Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly; and Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr Paul Hayes, Principal Legal Officer, Indigenous Land Corporation

Mr Len Kiely MLA, Member for Sanderson, and Member, Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Mr Bernard Francis Kilgariff, former Senator, Private capacity

Mr John Liddle, Male Health Coordinator, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Ms Barbara McCarthy MLA, Member for Arnhem, Chair, Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, Chair, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Ms Shirley McPherson, Chairperson, Indigenous Land Corporation

Dr Martin Mowbray, Research and Policy Officer, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress

The Hon Warren Snowdon MP, Member for Lingiari, Australian Parliament

Ms Jayne Weepers, Senior Policy Officer, Central Land Council

Wednesday 15 November 2006 - Darwin

The Hon Justice Austin Asche, Chairman, Law Reform Committee

Mr John Bailey, Private capacity

Mrs Susanne Bradley, Co-chair, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr James Burke MLA, Member for Brennan, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Mr Wayne Connop, Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Senator Patricia Crossin, Parliament of Australia

Ms Jenni Daniel-Yee, Department of Justice, Northern Territory

Mr James Faulkner, Assistant Secretary, Constitutional Policy Unit, Attorney-General's Department

The Hon Stephen Hatton, Private capacity

Reverend Doctor Lloyd Kent, Private capacity

Mr John Liddle, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress

Mr Iain Loganathan, Australian Electoral Officer, Australian Electoral Commission

Mr Brian Martin AO MBE, Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Ms Barbara McCarthy MLA, Member for Arnhem, Chair, Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, Chair, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

The Hon Justice Dean Mildren, Justice of the Northern Territory Supreme Court.

Mr Terrance Mills MLA, Member for Blain, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Dr Martin Mowbray, Research and Policy Officer, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Mr Graham Richard Nicholson, Legal Advisor, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr Thomas Pauling, Solicitor-General, Northern Territory

Mr Jamey Robertson, Junior Vice President, Unions NT

Mr William Shepheard, Electoral Commissioner, Northern Territory Electoral Commission

The Hon Sydney (Syd) Stirling MLA, Minister for Statehood, Northern Territory Government

Mr Tony Tapsell, Chief Executive Officer, Local Government Association of the Northern Territory

Mr Michael Tatham, Executive Officer, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Mr Kenneth Wu, Private capacity

## Thursday 16 November 2006 - Darwin

Mr Robert Adams, Principal Advisor, Minerals and Energy, Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines, Northern Territory

Reverend William Bassett, Private capacity

Mrs Susanne Bradley, Co-chair, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr Dennis Bree, Deputy Chief Executive, Department of the Chief Minister, Northern Territory

Mr James Burke MLA, Member for Brennan, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Mr Edward Cole, Acting Group Manager, Workplace Relations Policy Group, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Wayne Connop, Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr Kelvin Costello, Coordinator, Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation

Mr John Daly, Chairman, Northern Land Council

Mr John de Koning, Regional Director, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Northern Territory

Mr Joseph Gallagher, Executive Member, Unions Northern Territory

Ms Ione Jolly, Private capacity

Reverend Dr Lloyd Kent, Private capacity

Ms Emma King, Uranium Campaigner, Environment Centre of the Northern Territory

Mr Justin Larkin, Workplace Advocate, Office of the Commissioner for Public Employment, Northern Territory

Mr John Liddle, Male Health Coordinator, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress

Mr Brian Martin AO MBE, Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Ms Barbara McCarthy MLA, Member for Arnhem, Chair, Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, Chair, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mrs Fay Miller MLA, Member for Katherine, and Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Ms Irene Monro, Secretary, Unions Northern Territory

Mr Alan Morris, Chairman, Commonwealth Grants Commission

Mr Graeme Neate, President, National Native Title Tribunal

Ms Jennifer Prince, Under Treasurer, Northern Territory Department of Treasury

Mr Joseph Procter, Managing Director, Indigenous Energy Pty Ltd

Ms Kezia Purick, Chief Executive, Northern Territory Minerals Council Inc.

Mr Leigh Tilmouth ('Tracker'), Private capacity

Mrs Margaret Vigants, Member, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee

Mr Jerry Whitfield, Director, Minerals and Energy Titles, Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines, Northern Territory

Mr Gerry Wood, Member of the Legislative Assembly, Northern Territory

Mr Kenneth Wu, Private capacity

Mr Christopher Young, Chief Executive, Northern Territory Chamber of Commerce

## Tuesday 6 February 2007 – Canberra

Mr Alexander Anderson, Assistant Secretary, Legal Policy Branch, Government Division, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr John Angley, Executive Director, Territories and Local Government Division, Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr James Faulkner, Assistant Secretary, Constitutional Policy Unit, Attorney-General's Department

Mr Adam Kirk, Senior Legal Officer, Constitutional Policy Unit, Attorney-General's Department

Mr Michael Tatham, Executive Officer, Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee